Standalone VS engine (Hilux conversion)

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
lacham05

Standalone VS engine (Hilux conversion)

Post by lacham05 »

Hi all, this may have been asked before but i'm new to this and have searched and searched and can't find a straight answer. :comp:

I have a stuffed 3.8 with a t5 manual from a VP (that never ran properly and can only put it down to wiring/ecu) in my Hilux and i have a whole auto VS ecotec motor, loom and computer at my house.

Basically what i want it to do is just run the VS engine with the t5 and an adapter of some sort for the vss

My main question is does anyone know if i can get the VS motor it to run properly with the correct ecu and custom memcal combo??
(I know about the VATS and having to have a VSS but not much else)

The numbers on top of the ECU box are 16231448 and 16210672

Hopefully someone can help so I don't have to go to the extent of putting a Link computer or something in
Last edited by lacham05 on Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
vs ss
cars: hsv enhanced vs ss
vt xu6
fb holden
toyota landcruiser
vt ss s1

Re: Standalone VS engine

Post by vs ss »

Hi yes you can do that via turning the vats off on the memcal and auto codes if your running the hilux manual but you really need to run a speed sensor.
You can turn the throttle stop screw up to avoid stalling issues etc but a universal type inline reluctor sensor are not that dear then closed loop and other pcm functions that are speed related will work.
Come to think of it I think you could just burn something like a getrag manual tune with vats removed should do the trick.
I am sure someone else will chime in to give some more info.
Last edited by vs ss on Thu Dec 19, 2013 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
lacham05

Post by lacham05 »

Sorry just edited it. Going to put in a vss in somehow on the t5.