Can't link to Gen 3 ECU with OBD2

160 And 8192 Baud Aldl
Posts: 1163
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:58 am
Location: Padstow NSW

Can't link to Gen 3 ECU with OBD2

Postby Charlescrown » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:17 am

I was of the impression that all Gen3 engines are OBD2 but can't get a generic bluetooth unit to link with the ECU. The unit works fine on other cars but not this VY. Anyone know why?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5525
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Can't link to Gen 3 ECU with OBD2

Postby antus » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:41 am

ls1? on 512kb or 1mb pcms? yes they are. Check the power and ground pins, and the VPW data pin are all present, clean and making a good connection. it could also be a fault in the units vpw circuitry if everything else you've tested with is CAN bus.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 1801
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: WA

Re: Can't link to Gen 3 ECU with OBD2

Postby Tazzi » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:42 am

Charlescrown wrote:I was of the impression that all Gen3 engines are OBD2 but can't get a generic bluetooth unit to link with the ECU. The unit works fine on other cars but not this VY. Anyone know why?

Alot of the generic bluetooth units do not have the required protocol (VPW) for the Gen3 (LS1) engines built into the devices. Some of the better and bigger style bluetooth units (Like full elm style case units) will support and work.

Also, next issue is whether the software you are using supports the VPW protocol as well.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5525
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Can't link to Gen 3 ECU with OBD2

Postby antus » Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:59 pm

Really? No VPW in the latest units? Wow even the low quality $8 ones I was seeing a year or two ago had the vpw hardware. They had really bad soldering and the BT module was often not soldered to the main board, but at least they had tried to include the right protocols! For the time lost on the cheap modules, your really better off spending a little more for an allpro or an obdlink sx.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 1163
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:58 am
Location: Padstow NSW

Re: Can't link to Gen 3 ECU with OBD2

Postby Charlescrown » Wed Jan 16, 2019 4:05 pm

I'll have to check that one. I can scan the car fine with my Autel MD802 but not with the bluetooth so it's probably not going to be a connection problem. I am using Torque Lite maybe that's where the problem lies.

User avatar
Posts: 1801
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: WA

Re: Can't link to Gen 3 ECU with OBD2

Postby Tazzi » Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:11 pm

antus wrote:Really? No VPW in the latest units? Wow even the low quality $8 ones I was seeing a year or two ago had the vpw hardware. They had really bad soldering and the BT module was often not soldered to the main board, but at least they had tried to include the right protocols! For the time lost on the cheap modules, your really better off spending a little more for an allpro or an obdlink sx.

Yeah! Saves on space, and reduction of cost for no regulator+transistors+resistors for the circuit would reduce cost a bit... even if its something thats already cheap.

Id assume they work off of the cost per 10k units... so saving 50cents.. is like saving 5k for them... or 5k more in their pockets.

Return to ALDL, OBDII Logging and Scanning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests