LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

160 And 8192 Baud Aldl
User avatar
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:59 am
Location: North Coast, NSW

LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

Postby Jayme » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:43 am

Hi, for those who have a Tunercat OBD2 Cable like me and dont have any decent logging software to log with it, here is the answer!

for the latest update of this adx the following has been added:
  • No More 1 speed and 4 speed as separate versions. you choose the connection macro yourself (defaults to 1x)
  • Added Wideband input support for the AVT 852 equipped with ADC
  • Added basic DTC gathering support - see viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2314&p=66894#p66894

Latest Version:
AVT LS1 SAE & GM_ENH V1.6.adx
(79.2 KiB) Downloaded 1191 times


to swap between 1X and 4X, you need to change the Connection Command drop down box to either "CONNECT 1X MACRO" or "CONNECT 4X MACRO"
AVT-1.JPG
AVT-1.JPG (61.88 KiB) Viewed 19808 times



to get the wideband working, if you have ADC already enabled on your AVT, you can hook it up to channel 1, otherwise you may be able to add the missing components to get it working (which is what I did) details on this are difficult as each revision of AVT had different components missing. watch out for a separate thread detailing this.
Also, you will need to edit the formula for the wideband value to suit your range, currently it is set to: (((22.39-7.35)/255)*X)+7.35 im sure you can figure out where to type your range numbers in the equation :P

this screenshot was taken on my bench PCM, which is why some values look a bit funny.
AVT-3.JPG
AVT-3.JPG (154.47 KiB) Viewed 19808 times


if you have got a different AVT other than 852 and are getting errors because of the wideband, you can open the "P1 FAST MON MACRO" and remove ADC TX and ADC RX from the bottom of it.


for the DTC gathering the adx is a bit buggy due to the way tunerpro handles incoming packets. its a bit of a hack to get it working at all. You open your FAULT CODES item list and then execute the fault code macro from the send command toolbar. it can read up to four DTC's at a time. if you do clear codes, you must close and reopen tunerpro before checking codes again otherwise the first codes you read out will become stuck in the DTC2,DTC3 and DTC4 values.
AVT-2.JPG
AVT-2.JPG (33.04 KiB) Viewed 19808 times



I have also made a completely new ADX that loads up the PIDs into 3x 6 byte DPID's then requests each of the 3 DPID packets in turn. so instead of reading 20 PID packets each cycle it only reads 3 DPID packets. I recently got this adx working in aldldroid on the avt-852 with an android otg cable.
this adx doesnt have as many pids as the old style ADX so I have kept both available.
AVT LS1 DPID V1.06-aldldroid.adx
(54.28 KiB) Downloaded 559 times






Archive

1.4 update - 6-12-2012 added some new pid's, knock stuff, and IAC motor position
AVT LS1 SAE & GM_ENH V1.4-4xspeed.adx
(67.48 KiB) Downloaded 633 times


1.2 update - 23-03-2012 found an issue with the coolant temp, packet offset off by one, explains the funny coolant temp readings some have been having.
AVT LS1 SAE & GM_ENH V1.2-4xspeed.adx
(66.04 KiB) Downloaded 549 times


1.1: I changed the default macro to update all the priority items in between each individual non priority PID and it now logs all of the items shown on the "GM & SAE DASH" it seems to work better that way.
AVT LS1 SAE & GM_ENH V1.1.adx
(64.14 KiB) Downloaded 573 times

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6280
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: LS1 ADX to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable

Postby antus » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:45 am

Good work :thumbup:

Works at just over 40hz on my bench setup. No car to test on, though.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:59 am
Location: North Coast, NSW

Re: LS1 ADX to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable

Postby Jayme » Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:02 pm

just had a thought, what if I could dump the pid's at VPW 4x......I wonder what hz tp5 would get up to.
results below. this was on my core i7 tho, and it slows to 60 hz on the monitor screen. guess it really does suck a lot of cpu power :D



avt logging 80hz.PNG
avt logging 80hz.PNG (61.87 KiB) Viewed 21365 times

User avatar
Posts: 10008
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: LS1 ADX to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable

Postby Holden202T » Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:38 pm

you'll see some good saw tooth rpm traces with that speed!

User avatar
Posts: 5304
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: LS1 ADX to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable

Postby delcowizzid » Thu Mar 15, 2012 12:55 pm

i used both adx's today seem to work good
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

User avatar
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:59 am
Location: North Coast, NSW

Re: LS1 ADX to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable

Postby Jayme » Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:33 pm

updated adx in first post to fix coolant temp packet offset issue.

User avatar
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 4:52 am
Location: North Idaho USA

Re: LS1 ADX to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable

Postby EagleMark » Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:40 am

Thanks for the hard work shared Jayme! We are enjoying you adx files here in the states as well!
http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inject ... CM-Project!

User avatar
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:59 am
Location: North Coast, NSW

Re: LS1 ADX to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable

Postby Jayme » Thu Jun 27, 2013 9:39 am

thanks mate! didnt get much feedback in this thread so assumed nobody cared or used the adx... I have been mainly using it for my own tuning on aussie ls1's, feel free to give feedback on it and any changes or fixes I need to do... I dont log much normally other than the basics and knock.

User avatar
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 4:52 am
Location: North Idaho USA

Re: LS1 ADX to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable

Postby EagleMark » Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:45 am

Don't feel that way! We all care! Some XDF are coming together as well. Once a flash and cable is available this will explode!

There's also some work going for ADX with VPW cable.

Thanks Mate!

User avatar
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:59 am
Location: North Coast, NSW

Re: LS1 ADX to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable V1.6

Postby Jayme » Wed Sep 11, 2013 11:17 am

Updated first post with new version 1.6
includes Wideband and DTC support!

Next

Return to ALDL, OBDII Logging and Scanning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests