LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

160 And 8192 Baud Aldl
Posts: 2517
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

Re: LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Wed Sep 11, 2013 11:47 am

Nice work Jayme, hadn't paid much attention to this thread in the passed as I didn't have a descent cable apart from HP Tuners & it's got it own support, but this looks great for another option!

Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 5:07 pm

Re: LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

Postby Mangus » Wed Sep 11, 2013 11:58 am

You guys are simply awesome!

User avatar
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:59 am
Location: North Coast, NSW

Re: LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

Postby Jayme » Thu Oct 17, 2013 12:57 pm

will update the first post with the details later, but ive had a bit of a breakthrough! I managed to figure out how Dynamic PID's work.
so there are 8 Dynamic PID's with 6 bytes each. each byte can be anything you want. so I configured the DPID's as follows:

DPID 1
1&2=RPM
3&4=MAF
5=TPS
6=MAP

DPID 2
1= o2 bank 1 V
2= STFT Bank 1
3= o2 Bank 2 V
4= STFT Bank 2
5= gm knock
6= SAE spark adv

DPID 3
1=LTFT Bank 1
2=LTFT Bank 2
3=GM Batt Volts
4=GM AF RAtio
5=IAT
6=CTS

so instead of requesting each PID one at a time, I can get everything I need to tune with in 3 DPID packets. given it logs round 20 hz, thats refreshing each item about 7 times per second. loads faster than requesting them one a time. I could speed it up a bit more to around 10 frames per sec for each item by making DPID 3 a lower priority.

so here is the ADX!
AVT LS1 DPID V1.01.adx
(54.38 KiB) Downloaded 469 times


and a quick log I made of starting my engine.
jaymes VY log DPID.xdl
(29.74 KiB) Downloaded 403 times


so let me know what you guys think!

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6276
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

Postby antus » Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:00 pm

Awesome! Can we still select vpw 4x for an extra speed boost again?
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:59 am
Location: North Coast, NSW

Re: LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

Postby Jayme » Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:03 pm

4X works on my bench to get 40 HZ but when I enable it in the car 1x or 4x makes no difference. havent looked into why yet.

Posts: 2517
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

Re: LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:12 pm

Bugger about not getting higher rates in car, great work on breakthrough hopefully my e55 logging can help & may be able to support logging them too soon, but bit of a waste if we can't flash them (sorry going off topic)

Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:37 am

Re: LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

Postby tuningmonkey » Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:27 am

I've been trying to use an AVT-852 and this adx to connect to both my '02 Duramax and 2000 Camaro. No success with either. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

This is what I have:

Windows XP64
AVT-852
FTDI driver version 2.8.14.0 (also have tried and uninstalled 2.8.30.0)
OS bod is set to 9600
TunerPro RT 5.0 (build 8202)

I have tried several ports, both matched in OS and TunerPro. None connect with the "test for valid interface". Is the OS baud an issue? The 8192 that TunerPro is using isn't an option in the OS. All of this was done disconnected from the vehicle.

With the cable connected to a vehicle, it alternates between da connect and data error! and the number of errors just keeps counting up. I tried to capture a log of this, but it appears that the log file is blank.

Additionally, I can connect to the Duramax with the cable and LS1 Flash (from pcmhacking), but for some reason it won't download the bin. I can see data flowing with the terminal that AVT includes with the cable.

Any insights would be greatly appreciated!

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6276
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

Postby antus » Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:47 am

The cable test function is for ALDL cables with echo, so the test results can be ignored with the AVT-852.

The problem is most likely the same problem as you have reported in the ls1flash thread. Durahax has some points about different variations of the silence chatter command, if we can find one that is more compatible (broadcast to all modules sounds possible) then it can probably be applied to this adx too.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:59 am
Location: North Coast, NSW

Re: LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

Postby Jayme » Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:57 am

I would be surprised if this adx worked without issues... its for petrol ls1 with spark advance related items being logged, which dont exist on a diesel....

Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:37 am

Re: LS1 ADX V1.6 to suit Tunercat OBD2 Cable, AVT 852

Postby tuningmonkey » Thu Dec 05, 2013 11:07 am

I tried it on my 2000 LS1 Camaro as well. Same issue. It isn't that I'm not getting correct data, the cable doesn't seem to connect to the vehicle. Tried my friends 2010 vette just now as well. Seems to be the same failure mode.

Thanks for the AVT-852 thoughts regarding lack of echo. I'll try turning the echo on via the hexterm and see if the TunerPro cable test works then.

Thanks

PreviousNext

Return to ALDL, OBDII Logging and Scanning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest