02 Impala 3.8L Scanning

160 And 8192 Baud Aldl
Vince Black
cars: 92 Plymouth Laser 1.8L 34MPG with the A/C on!
02 Stratus 2.7L Custom AutoStick
99 300M 2.7L Custom AutoStick, intake, exhaust, dash cluster
96 Toyota Avalon

02 Impala 3.8L Scanning

Post by Vince Black »

I have what some might call a stupid question, but first a bit about my background. I have been a mechanic for years, I also do some web programming, java, cpp, and a lot of other assorted, weird, technical things. I have a bunch of different automotive electrical diagnostic tools, snap-on obd1 and obd2 scanners, snap-on DVOM, just all sorts of tools and experience. I was recently reading on the web about re-flashing and always thought it HAD to go to the dealer to do it. Well, except for buying some $6000 manufacturer specific glorified PDA. So, knowing that a PC power supply puts out 12 and 5 volt DC, and knowing the wiring of a PCM is nothing for me to fear, I made my own little test bench from where the T.V. USED to be in the living room. Man, my girlfriend is PISSED, so anyhow, I got a used PCM from a 02 Impala 3.8L. I have it hooked up to a floppy plug from a power supply and have it wired to one of my less expensive OBD2 scanners, just in case something happens to get fried. No problems, scanner comes up, got a perfect data stream, codes, tests, etc. Now that I get to asking the question, I realize how wired on coffee I am and didn't need to explain half of that stuff. Is there a way I can cut and splice either a printer plug, or a USB plug into where the DLC would be and be able to do anything using just a PC? Or would I absolutely have to have something between the two as an interface? I have read about the tech 2 although I have not used or owned one, I have read about the ELM 327 chip, and the CarDAQ pass-thru for J2534 standards, but I suppose the second part of my question is this - Why would you need a programmer to be a stand alone piece of hardware when theoretically (at least in my