VY V6 feels like lean surge going up hills

160 And 8192 Baud Aldl
Mag107
cars: VY 3.8 Acclaim

VY V6 feels like lean surge going up hills

Post by Mag107 »

Hello Guys n Girls ;)

I am new to Tuner Pro RT and just done data logging yesterday on my V6 and wondered if someone could look over my XDL file :thumbup:

I have changed those manifold gaskets (oil in the coolant) - spark plugs - cleaned throttle body and IAC - cleaned the MAF - checked all vac lines - leads checked ok with ohms readings and they don't arc anywhere at night in the dark with water misted over them.

When the ALDL cable is plugged into the PC and car the check engine light comes on and 1 of the fans turns on, the engine coolant temp stops reading on the dash and I can't use the A/C :wtf:

Engine is Stock with a washable air cleaner and sport exhaust.

I think it's fuel pressure but can't see anywhere to connect a gauge too :cry:

If you view the data you will note when it gets lean the knock sensors start reducing the timing of the cylinders.
Attachments
test 2.xdl
(1.58 MiB) Downloaded 348 times
Mag107

Re: VY V6 feels like lean surge going up hills

Post by Mag107 »

Just a up date I have (today) installed a Aeroflow NTP port with a Aeroflow 100psi fuel pressure gauge..
Depends on who you talk too as to what my fuel pressure should be, 290-410kPa or 42 - 60psi.
Mine reads 42psi with ignition on and just over 40 with the engine running and if I take the vac line off the regulator it goes up to 50psi..
I read it should be 50psi at idle, anyone got a factory workshop manual?
Holden202T

Post by Holden202T »

i would say 50psi at idle without the vacuum line, but will be closer to 43psi with the vacuum line on.

i think you will find though, get an idea of what it is at zero vacuum, in your case the 50psi with no vacuum line, thats what you should see at full throttle, or more likely anything low revs over about 30-40% throttle will probably be zero vacuum.