Moates ostrich and hi speed coms 808 troubles

160 And 8192 Baud Aldl
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:21 pm

Moates ostrich and hi speed coms 808 troubles

Postby vp304 » Sat Oct 31, 2020 7:56 pm

I have Old moates ostich
and vl400 hi speed coms for delco 808 ecu
Both work on my laptop in tuner pro.
But i cant seem to get both to work at the same time.
Im not sure if its something im doing in the settings.
Or if its cause my laptop only has one usb port and i have to use a splitter to get 2 usb ports?

Has anyone run similar of one usb port with a usb splitter / double adaptor ?
I will have to double check but im pretty sure id detected 2 com ports in windows devices when they both connected. Maybe not enough power on usb port to power both devices ?
Last time i had both working at the same time was 7-8 years ago on a old laptop with 2 usb ports but that laptop long gone

Any help will be appreciated
thanks

Online
User avatar
Posts: 6798
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: Moates ostrich and hi speed coms 808 troubles

Postby vlad01 » Sat Oct 31, 2020 8:49 pm

I think it might be a latency problem with using a USB hub, I heard others having same issues before.

That's one thing that really shits me with laptops these days, while desktop are getting more and more USBs, laptops are getting less. Many only comes with a single type C port which is useless.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

Posts: 218
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: Moates ostrich and hi speed coms 808 troubles

Postby vp304 » Sun Nov 01, 2020 7:29 am

Anything i can do to get it to work of the one usb port ?
Or am i stuffed

User avatar
Posts: 833
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: Moates ostrich and hi speed coms 808 troubles

Postby Gampy » Sun Nov 01, 2020 7:59 am

All hubs not being equal, try another, and another if need be ...
Windows 10 is like an off idle flat spot ... It stumbles when it's time to go!

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6451
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Moates ostrich and hi speed coms 808 troubles

Postby antus » Sun Nov 01, 2020 8:43 pm

I have heard of problems with ostrich a few times over the years, but never heard of anyone getting to the bottom of it. I agree its probably something to do with latency, but I think its in the moates gear, not in a hub. Can you go around it for the aldl side of things? or do I misunderstand your connections? I go through a usb for all my aldl stuff, and have never had an issue with a hub on its own.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 218
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: Moates ostrich and hi speed coms 808 troubles

Postby vp304 » Sun Nov 01, 2020 10:17 pm

Antus what you mean by go around it for aldl side of things?

Im only using ostrich for the real time flashing of tune while driving car around with wideband etc

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6451
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Moates ostrich and hi speed coms 808 troubles

Postby antus » Sun Nov 01, 2020 10:42 pm

Its been a while and Im not well familiar with the moates products, but one of the moats products had its own link back to the pc. So the ALDL went through the moates device. maybe it was autoprom... that through device link was what caused the problems. but this was just through user of the site, I never had the device.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 218
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: Moates ostrich and hi speed coms 808 troubles

Postby vp304 » Sun Nov 01, 2020 11:22 pm

mines a old i think version 1 ostrich but it just connects to pc by usb cable thats all. The same type of cable the vl400 hi speed coms uses. Same as my pc printer cable

Mine looks like this just a bit older
https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/sQwAAOSw ... -l1600.jpg

Moates ostrich 1 like mine does not have data tracing capabilities
The motes ostrich 2.0 does have data tracing capabilities

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6451
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Moates ostrich and hi speed coms 808 troubles

Postby antus » Sun Nov 01, 2020 11:58 pm

yep thats different, I was thinking of the APU1 where it does loop through the device. https://www.moates.net/apu1-autoprom-pa ... -p-54.html
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 218
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: Moates ostrich and hi speed coms 808 troubles

Postby vp304 » Mon Nov 02, 2020 7:41 am

aghhh ok ic ic

Next

Return to ALDL, OBDII Logging and Scanning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests