Convert V6 Netres To V8

Ecu Hardware Modifications
User avatar
Posts: 4861
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby delcowizzid » Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:56 pm

as the title suggests im changing a v6 memcal to V8 for someone i have these pics thought we could do with the info on here too.just a side note which do people think is best solid jumper or 7.5k resistor as the jumper :study:

netres.jpg
netres.jpg (12.77 KiB) Viewed 8234 times


ground2.jpg
ground2.jpg (13.35 KiB) Viewed 8234 times


v6-v8.jpg
v6-v8.jpg (27.32 KiB) Viewed 8238 times
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

User avatar
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:57 am
Location: Darwin, NT

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby Apples » Thu Aug 06, 2009 6:10 pm

This may sound silly, just cut the 15k leg should do it.
or am I wrong.
Don't make excuses. Make more horsepower.

Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:58 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby adrian » Thu Aug 06, 2009 6:11 pm

If the first pic is actually what's inside a V8 netres wouldn't you just cut the pin the 15k resistor is on??
Or is there something not shown

User avatar
Posts: 4861
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby delcowizzid » Fri Aug 07, 2009 4:56 pm

i think maybe the pin from the 7.5 doesnt goto earth maybe thats why they dont just cut the other pin
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

User avatar
Posts: 4988
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby VL400 » Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:31 am

Cutting the leg of the 15K works to convert to a V8.

Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:46 pm

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby Biggsy » Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:12 am

What about the limp home function when using a converted V6 one?

User avatar
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 2:06 pm

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby Six_Shooter » Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:17 am

Biggsy wrote:What about the limp home function when using a converted V6 one?


I'm not sure anyone has actually tried using LHM with a converted NETRES/MEMCAL, but it has been said that it will be way off.
2005 Dodge Dakota - The daily
1985 GMC Jimmy - A work in progress
1973 Datsun 240Z - The Toy, turbocharged and injected using GM EFI, and code59

If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space.

Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:46 pm

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby Biggsy » Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:19 am

Thats pretty much what I figured

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5710
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby antus » Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:58 am

I guess the knock filter will not be tuned for the right frequency, only a problem if the v8 is one that has a sensor fitted.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 4861
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby delcowizzid » Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:15 pm

sweet as cut the 15k its is then .yeah limp home mode will be pretty bad for the engine ide say would want to turn it off at the first sign of issues but its not normally an issue needs to be a major really to go into limp home mode like the eprom falling out or nearly every sensor dieing ill warn the guy .i think one of the sites i linked in the good websites thread had something on the other resister values and what the effect for limp home mode may be able to tune one in pretty good
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

Next

Return to Hardware Modification and Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest