Convert V6 Netres To V8

Ecu Hardware Modifications
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:52 pm
Location: Reno, NV USA

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby MrWillys » Mon May 04, 2015 12:09 am

Holden202T wrote:netres resistors. The factory TBI setting is used for 2 cylinder mode in OSE 12P.


I tried cutting just pin 12 first, but it still set a cylinder select error. After reviewing this post, I soldered in the resistor and it worked.

User avatar
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby j_ds_au » Mon May 04, 2015 10:04 pm

MrWillys wrote:I tried cutting just pin 12 first, but it still set a cylinder select error. After reviewing this post, I soldered in the resistor and it worked.

I presume that comment was directed at me.

Strange. That would suggest that your netres has a non-Open resistance for Z3C (refer MEMCAL-ECM.pdf; I'm assuming there must also be some voltage at pin 11 of the netres). What part number is printed on the netres?

Joe.

Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:52 pm
Location: Reno, NV USA

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby MrWillys » Tue May 05, 2015 3:47 am

j_ds_au wrote:
MrWillys wrote:I tried cutting just pin 12 first, but it still set a cylinder select error. After reviewing this post, I soldered in the resistor and it worked.

I presume that comment was directed at me.

Strange. That would suggest that your netres has a non-Open resistance for Z3C (refer MEMCAL-ECM.pdf; I'm assuming there must also be some voltage at pin 11 of the netres). What part number is printed on the netres?

Joe.

Joe,
Maybe this will make more sense if you see Holden202T's 9th post on page 2 of this thread. I tried to quote it, but the pic didn't follow. While both the TPI, and TBI 5.7's use a very similar engine I now believe there's a difference in the resistor chip on the memcals. In the $8D (TPI) the number of cylinders is set to 0, and in the $42 (TBI) number of cylinders is set to 8. I've even tried reassigning this value in the programming of the $8D, but it doesn't work.

User avatar
Posts: 9565
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby Holden202T » Tue May 05, 2015 8:59 am

netres resistors.jpg
netres resistors.jpg (33.02 KiB) Viewed 4294 times


:thumbup:

User avatar
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby j_ds_au » Thu May 07, 2015 2:23 am

MrWillys wrote:
j_ds_au wrote:
MrWillys wrote:I tried cutting just pin 12 first, but it still set a cylinder select error. After reviewing this post, I soldered in the resistor and it worked.

I presume that comment was directed at me.

Strange. That would suggest that your netres has a non-Open resistance for Z3C (refer MEMCAL-ECM.pdf; I'm assuming there must also be some voltage at pin 11 of the netres). What part number is printed on the netres?

Joe.

Joe,
Maybe this will make more sense if you see Holden202T's 9th post on page 2 of this thread. I tried to quote it, but the pic didn't follow. While both the TPI, and TBI 5.7's use a very similar engine I now believe there's a difference in the resistor chip on the memcals. In the $8D (TPI) the number of cylinders is set to 0, and in the $42 (TBI) number of cylinders is set to 8. I've even tried reassigning this value in the programming of the $8D, but it doesn't work.

Ah, gottcha!

I missed the significance of the "TBI" reference. I thought you were converting from diagram 1 to diagram 2, whereas you were converting from diagram 4 to diagram 2. Was your added resistor a 7.5k (aka. 7k5) or 7.5Ω (aka. 7R5)? If it was the latter (or a similarly low value, including zero), then the only simplification that could be made is omitting the snip of pin 12. Good job!

Joe.

Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:52 pm
Location: Reno, NV USA

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby MrWillys » Thu May 07, 2015 3:48 am

j_ds_au wrote:
Was your added resistor a 7.5k (aka. 7k5) or 7.5Ω (aka. 7R5)? If it was the latter (or a similarly low value, including zero), then the only simplification that could be made is omitting the snip of pin 12. Good job!

Joe.

Joe,
I'm just an ole retired carpenter who started tuning on the side about 15 years ago, and really don't get what you're driving at? Does this help?
Image

User avatar
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby j_ds_au » Fri May 08, 2015 11:30 pm

Yep, that's 7.5k, which is 7500 ohms. (With that value, the pin needed the snip.)

Joe.

User avatar
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:35 pm

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby barana » Sun May 31, 2015 2:28 pm

or 7K5
"Its alright for god, he doesnt drive a kingswood.Even the nuns only have toranas"-Ted Bullpit
Me:yeah,corse,God's a Holden man
Mate:whaaa?
Me:Psalm 83:15 so pursue them with your Tempest and terrify them with your Storm
A Holden & a pontiac

User avatar
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby j_ds_au » Sun May 31, 2015 11:27 pm

barana wrote:or 7K5

Actually, 7k5 (kilo is a lower case multiplier). ;)

Joe.

Posts: 2374
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

Re: Convert V6 Netres To V8

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:10 pm

I've previously been told & have actually done with success just cutting leg to convert from v6 to v8 even though LHM won't work but the other memcal I did was vs & worked fine!

But with these 2 in picture every time I loaded the bin on double stacked a $12p file it ran super rich & poorly? The only difference I can say is these are from vr 808 & removed knock filter as I did with the other?

I ended up using a proper v8 memcal (so blue chips at end) same double stacked file as previous & was fine?
Attachments
image.jpg

PreviousNext

Return to Hardware Modification and Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests