can the 0411 P01 take 16.3v? Benchtop flash rig

Ecu Hardware Modifications
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 6:31 am

can the 0411 P01 take 16.3v? Benchtop flash rig

Postby Windsma » Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:32 am

I read some noticed a voltage drop when flashing the pcm. Closest power supply i have is 16v 4amp.
Will the 0411 pcm take 16.3v?

Posts: 2432
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

Re: can the 0411 P01 take 16.3v? Benchtop flash rig

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:00 am

I'm pretty sure I remember Antus saying when testing it will only fail if it get's below 12v, but I personally wouldn't be using anything more than 14.5v & usually only needs less than 1amp!

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5710
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: can the 0411 P01 take 16.3v? Benchtop flash rig

Postby antus » Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:21 pm

Car stuff is usually industrial quality and has quite high tolerances. I would think it probably would be ok, but no gauruntees and you probably should find a lower voltage unit. I tend to use cb radio power supplies as they are often 13.8v because they are designed to power a device that also works in a car.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 6:31 am

Re: can the 0411 P01 take 16.3v? Benchtop flash rig

Postby Windsma » Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:58 am

Being an impatient person..
My Allpro showed up today and thought I would see what happens., given the pcm is still under junkyard "warranty"
Two 14min read sessions and one 3min write, nothing got warm worked like a champ.

I will still order a resistor to throw in line and drop it ~2v
I assumed the amps were fine given most PCM fuses are 20amp

Posts: 337
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Castlemaine, Vic

Re: can the 0411 P01 take 16.3v? Benchtop flash rig

Postby pman92 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:42 am

Putting a resistor in-line is going to drop the voltage dependent on how much current the PCM is using.

If the PCM current draw changes the voltage drop will change and the PCM supply voltage will be unstable
VR-VY Holden BCM Simulator: LINK
Ford Smartlock Bypass Module: LINK

User avatar
Posts: 9758
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: can the 0411 P01 take 16.3v? Benchtop flash rig

Postby Holden202T » Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:33 am

just get a voltage reg ?

a good test would be, get a logging session going with the pcm and see what voltage its seeing ? it might have internal circuits to stop over voltage ?

Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 6:31 am

Re: can the 0411 P01 take 16.3v? Benchtop flash rig

Postby Windsma » Sat Jan 19, 2019 2:22 am

Pcm saw 16.8v during flash according to pcmhammer

User avatar
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: can the 0411 P01 take 16.3v? Benchtop flash rig

Postby j_ds_au » Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:28 am

pman92 wrote:Putting a resistor in-line is going to drop the voltage dependent on how much current the PCM is using.

If the PCM current draw changes the voltage drop will change and the PCM supply voltage will be unstable

Yeah, some series diodes, say 3-4x 1N4007, would be better. Or bigger diodes should the current exceed 0.5A (unlikely).

Joe.

User avatar
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: can the 0411 P01 take 16.3v? Benchtop flash rig

Postby NSFW » Sun Feb 03, 2019 12:49 pm

My 411 draws about 350ma almost all of the time, but when flashing it draws more. I don't recall for sure how much, but I think it was 600-700ma.
Please don't PM me with questions about tuning or flashing - start a thread instead. Thanks!

User avatar
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: can the 0411 P01 take 16.3v? Benchtop flash rig

Postby j_ds_au » Sun Feb 03, 2019 11:09 pm

NSFW wrote:My 411 draws about 350ma almost all of the time, but when flashing it draws more. I don't recall for sure how much, but I think it was 600-700ma.

Hmmm, that's a big jump in current. That should still be OK for short periods though, as the 1N4007 has a maximum rating of 1A.

Joe.

Next

Return to Hardware Modification and Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest