L67 camshaft choice discussion

A place For General Chit Chat Etc
vHell83
cars: Supercharged VH V6

L67 camshaft choice discussion

Post by vHell83 »

As the subject states, I'm in the market for a new cam.

The engine is an l36 bottom with l67 top swap.
Blower is ported internally and externally with u bend porting and ls1 tb and maf with 4" intake.
3 inch pulley with plans to drop down later on.
E85 and 5 speed manual.

Now the question is out of the cams listed which is going to be the best one to use with boost and why? I'm not good with cam specs just yet so forgive me if I sound a little silly.

This Is my current cam

And the ones I'm looking at

Xp hotcam aka mace stage 2 605 with 1.7 or 1.8 rocker ratio (unsure what one would be better)

The Clive cam grind

The camtech grind

At first, I wanted something very lopey hence the 108 lsa, now I want performance and efficiency over lope.
vlad01
cars: VP I S
VP I executive
VP II executive
VP II executive #2
VR II executive

Re: L67 camshaft choice discussion

Post by vlad01 »

I think the XP looks best suited, the 2nd last clive is a big cam, though its suited for full out NA race engine, looks to a be saloon series specs.

cam tech is meh, mild NA cam

Your cam isn't bad if the LSA was only wider, say 113-116º and dialed in center line.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.
The1

Post by The1 »

depends how you want to drive it as well and where you want peak torque.
cars: VY s L67
Haines Hunter - not a car but still a toy

Post by 0081 »

I run the XP Hot cam, not a bad cam and I'm making decent power with it.
If I had to choose a cam again i would have gone something that would make a bit more power
madmaxisback
cars: VN Calais
VK Berlina

Post by madmaxisback »

Check this site out: https://zzperformance.com/3800/supercharged-cams-1.html
Their XP Hot cam would be fun I think!
Or nasty NIC cam:
https://youtu.be/Zx32S-dz18o
(note it didn't start first pop)