Innovate LM2 wideband issue

A place For General Chit Chat Etc
Posts: 2392
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

Innovate LM2 wideband issue

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:25 am

So I've had my Innovate LM2 for 5 years or so now & has been great but last year was having issues with wideband sensor errors so I thought it was time to get some new sensors(LSU 4.2).

I got some off ebay & when I tried them it came up with more errors & random but they never worked at all, so I tried plugging my original sensors & they started having the same error codes as eBay units...WTF

So I'm assuming the eBay sensors caused something electrical to fail in LM2 unit & when through trouble shooting with Auto Meter USA & they said just send it back & we will quote repairs so I paid freight & what a waste of time... $296.xx USD to fix & $50 USD postage back...

I told them just to send it back as RMA return postage for free with quote although it cost me to send there but I could have bought a new unit for what they were going to charge for repair!

So now I have the faulty unit back & wondered if anyone with electrical knowledge may know what I can look at to repair it myself?
The PCB visually looks o.k. for all parts I can see but there is PCB's on top of each other that I can't see between & assuming this is where components are for wideband controllers as there's 2 identical assuming for each sensor.

User avatar
Posts: 4775
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: Innovate LM2 wideband issue

Postby delcowizzid » Tue Jan 22, 2019 6:54 pm

Best place for it the bin I hate innovate shit spent so much on feeding mine sensors when manufacturers can get hundreds of thousands of I'm out of 1 sensor innovate lucky to get 1 tune done sometimes lol
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

Posts: 1174
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:58 am
Location: Padstow NSW

Re: Innovate LM2 wideband issue

Postby Charlescrown » Fri Jan 25, 2019 2:59 pm

I have had mine for about 8 years and never a problem. The only problem was me the idiot running over the cable and ripping the wires out of the sensor. Just replaced it with a genuine Holden and less than $100. Love it.

Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests