Holden Alloytec V6 running on Speeduino ECU

A place For General Chit Chat Etc
User avatar
Posts: 10016
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Holden Alloytec V6 running on Speeduino ECU

Postby Holden202T » Sun Oct 04, 2020 8:56 pm

So i have been working on a speeduino ecu for a while now, re-designing the open source one and adding things i wanted etc, and set it up to use ATX power supply plugs for easy of use.

Recently i had to get rid of the VZ ute so i had to strip all the bits out i wanted before hand, and that gave me the perfect test unit to try it on.

As you can see, i removed the drive by wire throttle and adapted a VN TB, also added a map and mat sensor, oh and i added a speedflow fitting to the end of the fuel rail so it wasnt returnless anymore (see the braided hose out the front of the left bank going to the fuel pressure regulator)

P1030217.JPG
P1030217.JPG (631.12 KiB) Viewed 292 times

This is the speeduino board i made, as you can see from the pin layout in the middle, there is an arduino mega 2560 underneath which is the brains of the whole show (which can be seen in the pic above).

P1030222.JPG
P1030222.JPG (957.47 KiB) Viewed 292 times

i then made a little interface board that would allow me to connect the atx cables to the stock Alloytec ECU plug, also added in the extra connections for map/mat etc.

IMG_6043.JPG

a few extra long header pins and its good to go!

P1030218.JPG
P1030218.JPG (476.29 KiB) Viewed 292 times

Here is a little video of it running, i think its a bit lean hense the hunting, but its not smoking out the shed anymore!



Its only running in wasted spark mode and batch fire injectors at the moment, i would like to work out the cam pattern so it can be made into sequential, but thats no great issue at this point in time.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6396
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Holden Alloytec V6 running on Speeduino ECU

Postby antus » Sun Oct 04, 2020 9:09 pm

Well done. This is definately one to watch :thumbup:
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 769
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: Holden Alloytec V6 running on Speeduino ECU

Postby Gampy » Sun Oct 04, 2020 9:36 pm

Nice!

I did a Speeduino on a 4 banger toying around a few years back, it surely was not as nicely done.
Got it working and tossed it ... (recycled components)

Is the adapter board a one off, who did it??
Temporary is a permanent problem!

User avatar
Posts: 6708
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: Holden Alloytec V6 running on Speeduino ECU

Postby vlad01 » Mon Oct 05, 2020 9:28 am

Is this able to control the cam phasers?
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

User avatar
Posts: 10016
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: Holden Alloytec V6 running on Speeduino ECU

Postby Holden202T » Mon Oct 05, 2020 11:46 am

Gampy, the ECU PCB is Speeduino's design and i have just customised it to my needs, and the adaptor board is 100% my design to make the two talk ie. routed the ign ouputs to the right pins to match the alloytec firing order etc .... and both boards i got made and assembled ... it would be nice if i could find the proper plug for the ecu connector on the adaptor board, but it works non the less.

as far as being one offs, i got 5 of each PCB made and easy enough to get more.

cam control is the next challenge, as you can see on the adaptor board i have a jumper for which cam sensor to read, this is so i can collect all the data needed to hopefully get cam support in speeduino firmware for this.

once thats done and they release the sequential firmware thats getting well on the way ... i am also trying to get the info together on what i need to add to the PCB v2 for having cam control pins, then its just a matter of if the software can do it or not.

im still not sure if these things are a simple eg. at 4000rpm apply power to the cam phaser to change it or if its a pwm or constantly adjusting type of system ... but we'll get there eventually.

the latest speeduino firmware has a heap of programable outputs so hopefully all i need is in them, i just need to add some transistors etc and circuits to adruino pins for them all.

User avatar
Posts: 6708
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: Holden Alloytec V6 running on Speeduino ECU

Postby vlad01 » Mon Oct 05, 2020 11:58 am

Yeah if cam control gets sorted this would make an ideal solution for those running these engines in speedway and racing. As far as I know most people are not able to tune these correctly and just lock the cam phasers in place.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

User avatar
Posts: 10016
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: Holden Alloytec V6 running on Speeduino ECU

Postby Holden202T » Mon Oct 05, 2020 12:14 pm

yeah it would be the icing on the cake thats for sure.

User avatar
Posts: 6708
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: Holden Alloytec V6 running on Speeduino ECU

Postby vlad01 » Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:44 pm

imagine whacking in some huge cams but still be able to get decent off idle performance by advancing and spreading apart the lobes, then tightening and retarding them up top.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

Posts: 2761
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:31 pm

Re: Holden Alloytec V6 running on Speeduino ECU

Postby immortality » Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:50 pm

Are the cam phasers on the Alloytec on/off or infinitely variable between it's limits? How many degrees of total variation is available?

User avatar
Posts: 10016
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: Holden Alloytec V6 running on Speeduino ECU

Postby Holden202T » Mon Oct 05, 2020 7:35 pm

I recall reading 50 degrees but I’m not sure if that’s total or not

Next

Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests