WK cluster in a VY

A place For General Chit Chat Etc
Posts: 2622
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

WK cluster in a VY

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Fri Dec 11, 2020 7:29 am

So I have a customer that has put a VZ cluster in a VY & obviously all the gauges aren't reading correctly & has warning's for ABS & everything else & wondered if any has done a dump read off VY & dumped it in a VZ cluster & works?


EDIT; Changed title seeing it wasn't a VZ cluster, but there is some good info in here about changing clusters.
Last edited by VX L67 Getrag on Tue Dec 22, 2020 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6507
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: VZ cluster in a VY

Postby antus » Fri Dec 11, 2020 10:43 am

I cant speak for certain, but I believe they'd be different firmware, and I think it'd be a case of manually copying the settings over, rather than a dump and load.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 2622
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

Re: VZ cluster in a VY

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Fri Dec 11, 2020 10:57 am

Yeah thats what I would have thought but when mapping the files out they look very similar, for reference I've attached the dumps off files in question.
Attachments
92155463 VZV8Auto_Cluster.bin
(512 Bytes) Downloaded 21 times
92160978 vy v6.bin
(512 Bytes) Downloaded 22 times

User avatar
Posts: 2330
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: WA

Re: VZ cluster in a VY

Postby Tazzi » Fri Dec 11, 2020 11:03 am

VX L67 Getrag wrote:Yeah thats what I would have thought but when mapping the files out they look very similar, for reference I've attached the dumps off files in question.


The firmware is the issue.

Also the VZ clusters have the fuel sent over communication line whereas VY use a physical wire.
Your Local Aussie Reverse Engineer
Site:www.envyouscustoms.com
Mob:+61406 140 726
Image

Posts: 2622
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

Re: VZ cluster in a VY

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:18 pm

So even if I knew which parameters to change to get right apart from the obvious like tacho, ppk, air bags etc... it still wont work with fuel gauge anyway & it has the fans come on as soon as engine runs so I'm thinking it may be feeding back something to them too.

Posts: 2622
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

Re: VZ cluster in a VY

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:01 pm

OK so customer swears to me it's not a VZ cluster as they have blue plug & this is out of a WK so it should technically be able to do a dump I guess.

Those files I put up earlier were just examples & not the actual dumps that I'll be using.

Posts: 1183
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:20 am
Location: Geelong, VIC

Re: VZ cluster in a VY

Postby yoda69 » Fri Dec 11, 2020 7:51 pm

Post up the instrument cluster part number and I’ll try an tell you what it’s out of.

Posts: 2622
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

Re: VZ cluster in a VY

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Sun Dec 13, 2020 5:49 pm

Ok, thanks heaps... I’ll check it out this week!!!
So much work to do on this....

User avatar
Posts: 2330
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: WA

Re: VZ cluster in a VY

Postby Tazzi » Mon Dec 14, 2020 9:21 am

VX L67 Getrag wrote:So even if I knew which parameters to change to get right apart from the obvious like tacho, ppk, air bags etc... it still wont work with fuel gauge anyway & it has the fans come on as soon as engine runs so I'm thinking it may be feeding back something to them too.


Blue plug = VZ.
Grey plug = VY.

Which have you got?
Your Local Aussie Reverse Engineer
Site:www.envyouscustoms.com
Mob:+61406 140 726
Image

Posts: 2622
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

Re: VZ cluster in a VY

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Tue Dec 22, 2020 8:05 am

I haven't pulled it out to confirm but been told it's grey & was told sticker on the back has 92181470

When I use cluster programmer it says software is 92157974

Being thats it's out of WK Caprice I managed to change from series 2 to series 1 fuel calibration to get guage working better, then I changed from auto to manual & got rid of PRNDL (but still throws trans oil overtemp & other trans fault on cluster only) & then I changed tacho ppr from 3 which is for v8 to 2 for v6 & seems happier.

It still has HEAPS of other faults throwing on cluster but the car has lots of other issues too so it's a matter of working through them ALL.

Next

Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests