Security camera feeds onto house TV's?

A place For General Chit Chat Etc
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2021 5:49 pm

Re: Security camera feeds onto house TV's?

Postby Cincinnatus » Mon Jan 10, 2022 6:48 am

I would expect it just transmits the chosen channel onto coax. Other channels should still exist on the coax. Ad shows a rack of those units, I'm assuming sending signals on separate channels for coax distributed video for maybe sports bar setup. Some units did rf or atsc output and some had HDMI, composite or component input. If immortality tries one I hope he reports if it works as I have a use for one as well.
Last edited by Cincinnatus on Mon Jan 10, 2022 3:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Online
Posts: 3093
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:31 pm

Re: Security camera feeds onto house TV's?

Postby immortality » Mon Jan 10, 2022 3:36 pm

This is on my winter projects list. I'll do a little more research first.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6808
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Security camera feeds onto house TV's?

Postby antus » Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:04 pm

some things to think about in regards to DVB-T over co-ax:

Do all your TVs share the same antenna?
Do you have any signal strength problems with shared antennas?

You might need to either broadcast the tv signal which is probably illegal and do you want your neighbors tuning in to it?, or else you might have a whole lot of wiring to do splitting the 75ohm attenuation co-ax in a way which changes the impedance and messes with signal quality each split for each TV. Then because of the numerous signal sinks and splits you might need a signal amp near the antenna. And even then you have no guarantees it'll work.

If you need to do the wiring anyway, maybe it'd be better to buy a network of hdmi splitters and run them through the roof and out to each tv. If you do that you wont need to re-do any antennas, and the splitters can also act as signal repeaters in a loop through the ceiling, and each tv could have it on hdmi 1 or similar. Then you'd still need a signal source, whether thats a computer, phone, android box, or an NVR, and you'd have no way to control it remotely to zoom in a particular cam, though you could probably have a split screen view showing 4 or (up to) 9 at the same time.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Online
Posts: 3093
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:31 pm

Re: Security camera feeds onto house TV's?

Postby immortality » Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:19 pm

I already fitted a signal amp/splitter last year after chasing TV signal issues for years.

Definitely won't be broadcasting a signal for someone else to watch...

User avatar
Posts: 1392
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: Security camera feeds onto house TV's?

Postby Gampy » Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:31 pm

immortality wrote:Definitely won't be broadcasting a signal for someone else to watch...
Awe come on, that ain't no fun for the neighbors ...
Intelligence is in the details!

It is easier not to learn bad habits, then it is to break them!

If I was here to win a popularity contest, their would be no point, so I wouldn't be here!

Online
Posts: 3093
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:31 pm

Re: Security camera feeds onto house TV's?

Postby immortality » Mon Jan 10, 2022 5:06 pm

So doing a little more reading, NZ digital TV doesn't use the US ATSC standard so the encoder listed earlier won't work in NZ. NZ does use the DVB-T signal type which the other encoder can do.

So I think this one https://www.amazon.com/dp/B082DM432N/ref=emc_b_5_t might work with the NZ digital TV signal/decoders.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freeview_(New_Zealand)

Previous

Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests