FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Hardware and Software. If you have something to sell, post it here.
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 4844
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby antus » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:31 pm

All PMs responded too.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 5226
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby vlad01 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:34 pm

Looks like NVRAM modules are readily available now under the Maxim Integrated name, unlike a while ago they were impossible to find.

http://au.mouser.com/Semiconductors/Mem ... tuZ1z0w400

http://au.rs-online.com/web/p/nvram-mem ... /0132839P/

Industrial version, same as what we use currently.

http://au.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Maxi ... ZTvrB4U%3d

Good news for us then, long live delco tuning :thumbup:
Last edited by vlad01 on Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

User avatar
Posts: 5226
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby vlad01 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:49 pm

Also I noticed they have a version called power cap, which is basically a SMD NVRAM with an external battery that clips on. Pretty cool option :thumbup:

data sheet has info.

http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/256/DS1245AB ... Y-7200.pdf

part.

http://au.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Maxi ... 2Lha9zg%3d

backup power source.

http://au.mouser.com/Search/ProductDeta ... bgaA%3d%3d

data sheet.

http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/256/DS9034PC-98830.pdf
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 4844
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby antus » Sun Sep 24, 2017 7:07 am

Maxim had carried them since the start, but they are still badged dallas when you get them. Mouser is a quality supplier but the shipping makes small orders expensive.

Those battery cap ones look interesting but i wonder how you'd unplug them to flash in a programmer while keeping power connected? (havnt read the data sheet in full). Ive looked at building in the flash capability to the device but its complicated and therefore expensive to intercept and isolate+drive so many pins. It'd be easy on modern serial hardware, but not this.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 5226
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby vlad01 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 10:44 am

The power cap is just the same as the standard NVRAM but has a separate external detachable battery that can be replaced. it basically forms an NVRAM module when clipped together, battery plugs onto the chip itself on 2 contact pins in the middle of the package that is separate from the normal package pins. Big advantage is the replaceable battery, say after 5 years to install another battery and extend the life. Its also SMD and compact, making it much lower profile and robust in an auto environment.

To program it, I would imagine the board can have a riser added to plug in and program from. maybe a row of dip switches for reconfiguring connections for programing/normal operation.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 4844
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby antus » Sun Sep 24, 2017 11:37 am

hmmm it'd be at least 27 dip switches.... to do it in system*. Swapping the batt would still cause the content to be erased. Plus cost to assemble goes up quite a bit for that many extra connections. It would be possible to program through the memcal side connector (as it is now). If you want to do that you can follow the pins and see the undocumented PROG jumper. This takes the power capacitor out of the circuit which allows the nvram to be programmed. You can homebrew one of these pretty easy.

If I was to go battery i'd build up festys design with the ram and power IC, and dual small lithium button caps where you can swap one at a time and retain the contents. But with ~10 years life in the battery you might only need to replace the NVRAM IC once in 20 years. I dont think it'd be worth it. But I know your someone who wants your hardware to work forever and I see where your coming from. People who do what their car to run forever should burn an eeprom once they're done tuning. I *will* start producing the festy design which plugs in to the existing boards when the nvrams we are using now go end of life or become prohibitively expensive. I have the design on hand.

* I am crossing my threads a little, i was considering adding a small MCU that could hold a couple of base tunes so you can reset it back to something that'd run in an 808 or a 424 then upload your cal from pc and take it from there, effectively removing the need for an eeprom programmer. But the sheer number of pins required is what kills that idea. It would end up way more expensive than a programmer.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 27
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 11:01 pm

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby h4x0r » Wed Nov 08, 2017 1:53 pm

Hey antus, I am a patiently waiting customer for one of your nvram boards. Any indication when your available to take my order? *begging puppy dog face emoji*

Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:17 pm

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby mark1200r » Thu Nov 09, 2017 1:16 pm

Pm sent

Previous

Return to For Sale

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests