FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Hardware and Software. If you have something to sell, post it here.
Online
User avatar
Posts: 2202
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 pm
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Vic

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby Gareth » Thu Sep 03, 2020 7:44 am

Stock level updated
According to chemistry, alcohol is a solution...

Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 8:53 am

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby POZE » Sat Dec 19, 2020 1:41 am

I have a car That i used 12p on and haven't touched it for almost seven years. I am using a US ECM 1227165. Years ago I purchased a NVRAM and I'm wondering if I made a mistake when I soldered in a jumper wire. I was looking at the directions that came with it and I don't think it shows a modification to use the NVRAM on a 165 ecm. I soldered in a wire like it shows for the 808. Can anyone help? Thanks

User avatar
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby 'quipt4it » Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:10 am

Hi POZE,
May be better to post in Hardware section.
Last edited by 'quipt4it on Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby 'quipt4it » Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:33 am

Just found this forum
http://www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum2/HTML/119333-5.html
Scroll down half page.
Is this what you have. It also has the 'wire mod' for board.
Dylan wrote:Something to think about is the American 1227165 ECU. Same as our 1227808. It's compatible with 12P.

Follow instructions for '808. If no go, verify jumpers, NVRAM corrupt or out of date? pin contact etc
Here is some info that may help
Attachments
info.pdf
(516.28 KiB) Downloaded 21 times

Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 8:53 am

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby POZE » Sat Dec 19, 2020 11:22 am

Hello Quipt4it,
Thanks for the response. I looked around at your info but wasn't positive about the correct answer. I got to thinking about the PM from VL 400 almost eight years ago when I purchased the NVRAM and there was a link to assemble instructions. The electronic copy clearly shows the jumper wire. I must have printed the instructions and the print didn't pick up the wire.
Thanks
Car has sat for seven years. I put a new battery in it today and used a chip from tuning with the Moats Auto Prom and it fired right up on 12p and sounded good. I really enjoy using the 12P. There are some very talented guys on this forum.

User avatar
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby 'quipt4it » Sat Dec 19, 2020 11:35 am

Let the fun begin.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6521
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: FS: ECM NVRAM Conversion (VN to VS but not VS Ecotec)

Postby antus » Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:00 pm

Good to hear you got it going. That 'info.pdf' file above is the hardware and software guide, available in the FAQ area, see the link up near the top right. I think its the same version, and I dont forsee any need to change it, but note to others, please download the FAQ area instead if you want to be sure.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Previous

Return to For Sale

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests