Speedo sender for Trimatic

Converting To Delco ECU From Carby Or Other Injection Systems
User avatar
Posts: 9674
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Speedo sender for Trimatic

Postby Holden202T » Tue Mar 10, 2015 12:27 pm

I guess this kind of falls under the ECU Conversion page.... so for those of you wanting to EFI an old holden which has a trimatic, or maybe even T350/400 etc the issue I have found is that there is no easy way to get the speed sensor from a commodore to connect to the gearbox.

I had someone make me up a fitting that adapted the trimatic speedo cable end and removed the cable and put a threaded end on it so the T700 sender screwed straight on .... this works fine but it is very custom and the guy didn't want to make another one! so I started looking at other options, and I was told the VL dash has a speed sensor built into it which accepts a speedo drive cable ....

so I purchased a VL dash and pulled it apart, and got just the VL speedo unit out of it, and in fact if you want to you can even pull the dial and the odometer part off it so really all that is left is a speed sensor and some electronics along with the speedo cable plug on the back!

we then fitted this to a jaycar plastic box, which has the speedo plug sticking out the side and the 3 wires needed for the pulse.

there is a small jumper cable from the main VL dash PCB to the speedo module, you need to keep this as your header for connecting the wires. on this plug there is RED BLACK and YELLOW pins, the red connects to ignition power, black to ground and the yellow is the 4 pulse output to the computer which on a 808 computer is Brown/yellow PIN A10.

for the record there are blue, green & brown also coming out of the plug, these are labelled as 2 pulse outputs, not sure what they are for but we didn't use them.

I will try and get some pictures shortly of the setup and also once we work out the pulses per km will update .... although it is in a race car so 4.11 diff and such will mean its out compared to a streeter :)

it cost $50 for the dash, and the trimatic speedo cable we already had, so its a pretty cheap and easy way to get a speedo sensor on an early model car if you want to EFI it and that's the only stumbling block.

this would also means if you used an electronic speedo ie. autometer/VDO then it would accept this pulse as well!

Edit: Pics added!

C__Data_Users_DefApps_AppData_INTERNETEXPLORER_Temp_Saved Images_P1120545.jpg
C__Data_Users_DefApps_AppData_INTERNETEXPLORER_Temp_Saved Images_P1120545.jpg (343.84 KiB) Viewed 5375 times

C__Data_Users_DefApps_AppData_INTERNETEXPLORER_Temp_Saved Images_P1120546.jpg
C__Data_Users_DefApps_AppData_INTERNETEXPLORER_Temp_Saved Images_P1120546.jpg (412.3 KiB) Viewed 5375 times

Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: Speedo sender for Trimatic

Postby budwizer » Fri Mar 13, 2015 11:04 am

I did a 202 trimatic efi conversion recently and ended up buying one of these. pulled the plastic gear off the trimatic cable and pushed that on to the adapter. Then it slides straight into the speedo sensor and uses the existing trimatic cable holder.

20140224_143602.jpg
20140224_143602.jpg (204.39 KiB) Viewed 5337 times

then used just an adapter with a pulse sender for the ecu. and used a t400 cable for the cluster in the vc.

20140226_105117.jpg
20140226_105117.jpg (339.75 KiB) Viewed 5337 times


Holden202T Edit: cropped and shrunk massive pics.

User avatar
Posts: 9674
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: Speedo sender for Trimatic

Postby Holden202T » Fri Mar 13, 2015 6:09 pm

ok so that looks pretty cool, I could never find this sort of stuff, where did you get it from ?

User avatar
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:56 pm
Location: Perth

Re: Speedo sender for Trimatic

Postby madmaxisback » Thu Jul 02, 2015 1:21 pm

Nice!
I run a trimatic in my VN Calais and would like one of these adapters too! Looks like I could just screw on the VDO VSS and away I go. Currently have a "custom" 1 foot cable made up with trimatic on one end and VSS sender on other... Not ideal but it works...

budwizer, could you tell us where you found this one mate? cheers

User avatar
Posts: 9674
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: Speedo sender for Trimatic

Postby Holden202T » Thu Jul 02, 2015 3:07 pm

what are you running in front of the trimatic madmax ?

User avatar
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:56 pm
Location: Perth

Re: Speedo sender for Trimatic

Postby madmaxisback » Sun Jul 05, 2015 6:24 pm

Tough 355ci with banana's at the moment. Building a VT solid roller for it

User avatar
Posts: 9674
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: Speedo sender for Trimatic

Postby Holden202T » Sun Jul 05, 2015 7:13 pm

hahaha nice :) its a humble little box that sure can handle a bit :P

Posts: 1203
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:53 am

Re: Speedo sender for Trimatic

Postby HQ355 » Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:53 pm

What manifold do you plan on using ? (Intake )

User avatar
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:56 pm
Location: Perth

Re: Speedo sender for Trimatic

Postby madmaxisback » Mon Jul 06, 2015 2:55 pm

HQ355 wrote:What manifold do you plan on using ? (Intake )


VN Group A with Perkins intake or Motec mate... No more :wall: :thumbup:

Posts: 3146
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: Speedo sender for Trimatic

Postby Dylan » Mon Jul 06, 2015 2:59 pm

What's a motec worth these day's? Ive got one here for a rainy day.

Next

Return to Delco ECU Conversions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest