Kalmaker

Converting To Delco ECU From Carby Or Other Injection Systems
Posts: 3179
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: Kalmaker

Postby Dylan » Fri Sep 29, 2017 8:30 am

Are you doing this in real time? Cut the VE in half to make sure make a big change. You haven't flagged closed throttle VE? That's the only time it won't be off the main VE table.

Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:32 pm
Location: South Australia

Re: Kalmaker

Postby Hof360 » Fri Sep 29, 2017 8:36 am

Yep in real time, and closed throttle VE isn't flagged.

Ill try it again today if i get a chance.

Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:32 pm
Location: South Australia

Re: Kalmaker

Postby Hof360 » Fri Sep 29, 2017 11:07 am

Starts, runs, and seems to be accepting adjustments now, I just wasn't pushing commit to ECM button...

User avatar
Posts: 4972
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: Kalmaker

Postby delcowizzid » Fri Sep 29, 2017 11:33 am

You can suck your old tune out with the kal board in the new ecu using the oseflashtool.but seems like you are having fun starting over who knows you might get a nicer tune starting from scratch .if you drag graph pointers it will automatically upload if changing tables it uploads on save or commit change .some guys on here setup a keyboard button so yhey use up and down to change value then tap there commit button
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

User avatar
Posts: 435
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 3:43 pm
Location: Pine mountain .vic

Re: Kalmaker

Postby jenko » Fri Sep 29, 2017 11:54 am

https://pcmhacking.net/forums/download/file.php?id=3695 here's a kalmaker sp3 xdf open up 2 tunerpros at once via the drop down menus it's under tools custom tools new tunerpro instance have 12p bin and xdf loaded in one and your kalmaker tune and that xdf in the other and copy paste what you need to change as a starting point just watch the table rpm spacing and map scaling on the tables it's slightly different rpm steps

great tip used it to compare some tables just out of interest

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5791
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Kalmaker

Postby antus » Fri Sep 29, 2017 2:25 pm

can also compare the stock kal tune to the current one this way to make a short list of changed items to migrate across.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:32 pm
Location: South Australia

Re: Kalmaker

Postby Hof360 » Sat Sep 30, 2017 11:36 am

Quick one guys..

with WB and NB o2's connected, and everything else as $12p comes 'out of the box' should I be turning off any learning or are they off by default?

I noticed BLM counts in dash view, but with Kalmaker I always had BLM disabled.

FWIW Im not a huge fan of ve update from narrowband as that was always tuning my ve's lean in the low rpm range back when I first started with Kalmaker.
It took a bit to realize that the NB o2 was just not that accurate until warm and above about 2400 rpm. :rant:

cheers.

User avatar
Posts: 4972
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: Kalmaker

Postby delcowizzid » Sat Sep 30, 2017 11:40 am

Should all be turned off out the box there's 2 flags in the flag section one for narrowband learn and one for wideband learn should be off.
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

User avatar
Posts: 4972
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: Kalmaker

Postby delcowizzid » Sat Sep 30, 2017 11:41 am

And there's a flag for force open loop to turn off closed loop to dial in your 've table without getting the narrowband correcting your work
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:32 pm
Location: South Australia

Re: Kalmaker

Postby Hof360 » Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:52 pm

so, If closed loop learn is off the STFT will still make corrections but not apply them to BLM??

did some logging/tuning this morning, Im very happy with the way you can adjust tables ie. click and drag highlight a lean section of table and and increase all cells by a given amount.

I have my full load wot areas close to target AF already.
The cruising ranges are a bit patchy. I adjusted so NB wont make corrections under 2000rpm or below 80celsius but im going to increase this more i think.

I also turned off lean cruise for now, as that was making adjustments.

I have always had a misfire around peak torque area at WOT that wouldn't go away with old system... It's now Gone!

PreviousNext

Return to Delco ECU Conversions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest