converting harnes to vs 304 engine

Converting To Delco ECU From Carby Or Other Injection Systems
Posts: 385
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:57 pm
Location: perth wa

Re: converting harnes to vs 304 engine

Postby vs ss » Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:57 pm

Not really, when you’re running map there better in the intake runners. The thing is the tune has also been made with intake heat soak, fuel and heat from cylinder reverb etc. So if you’re just learning and want something sort of plug and play just fit it in the factory spot.

Posts: 46
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 12:11 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: converting harnes to vs 304 engine

Postby Humptydumpty » Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:41 pm

Thanks mate!
What your saying makes sense

Was hoping not to have to pull inlet manifold off to drill it but think it’s the best option...
Cheers

Posts: 46
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 12:11 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: converting harnes to vs 304 engine

Postby Humptydumpty » Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:50 pm

A big shout out to everyone who helped me get my loom sorted!! Thanks!!
Engine is running sweet now!


Quick question:

Wirring in a tacho- that runs of the dizzy signal?

Also trying to locate where the speed sensor wires would be on the loom?? Not been able to find them yet.. had a decent search on google to.

Thanks :thumbup: :typist:

Posts: 385
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:57 pm
Location: perth wa

Re: converting harnes to vs 304 engine

Postby vs ss » Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:20 pm

Glad you got it running, well done. The vn/vp speed wires are run inside the car from sensor to dash to Ecu, so the input to the ecu is in that 8 pin rectangular plug that’s/ was near the ecu a brown/yellow wire( not the small diagnostic one) no doubt with the difference in the setup you will need to change the ppk in the ecu as well. The 808 ecu uses a Hall effect speed sensor, Tacho can come from the negative side of the coil although there should be a wire for it in that same 8 pin plug( from memory it’s a plain brown wire).

Posts: 46
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 12:11 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: converting harnes to vs 304 engine

Postby Humptydumpty » Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:21 am

Cheers

Posts: 46
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 12:11 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: converting harnes to vs 304 engine

Postby Humptydumpty » Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:29 am

Awesomeness!!!

Would you happen to have a pic of the pin out of that plug?

I’m going to start tapping into it...

Cheers again! :driving:

Posts: 385
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:57 pm
Location: perth wa

Re: converting harnes to vs 304 engine

Postby vs ss » Fri Jun 14, 2019 8:49 am

Sorry can’t help on that one, but if no one else chimes in I have a vp harness I can test to help.

User avatar
Posts: 9759
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: converting harnes to vs 304 engine

Postby Holden202T » Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:22 pm

follow them back to the ecu and see which pin is which that way.

Posts: 46
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 12:11 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: converting harnes to vs 304 engine

Postby Humptydumpty » Sun Jun 16, 2019 10:55 pm

Just to confirm- to modify the ppk you have to get the memcal re done?

Also have read I’ll need to get a speed sensor spliced into the speedo cable on my Bundy.

Posts: 46
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 12:11 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: converting harnes to vs 304 engine

Postby Humptydumpty » Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:15 am

Heya,
Different question but related - I’m wanting to run a diagnostic on my setup as there’s a fault.

On the diagnostic plug (near the Ecu) which wires do I need to bridge to put it in diagnostic mode? And as I don’t have a commodore dash can I use a test light to get it to flash out the codes?

Thanks

PreviousNext

Return to Delco ECU Conversions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest