n00b NVRAM tuning a Rover V8

Converting To Delco ECU From Carby Or Other Injection Systems
spoon
cars: Mitsubishi Cordia GSR
Toyota Corolla KE70 (blacktop 20v 4age)
Toyota Corolla KE70 (soon to be 16v 4age)
Toyota Corolla KE70 (soon to be 4g62t from above cordia)

n00b NVRAM tuning a Rover V8

Post by spoon »

Hey there, I'm pretty new to physically tuning, I have watched lots and lots of how-to's on youtube and read up as much as i can on the forums here (getting started etc), however i am still stuck at crossing the initial first barrier - mainly because i dont have a commodore i think...

My setup is a 3.9L rover V8 in a Triumph Tr8,

I have converted the EFI system to run the VN/VP wiring harness with a VR manual ECU (082) and V8 distributor (+ignitor etc).
Also fitted LS1 injectors...

I have also fitted an NVRAM and ALDL cable (purchased from here) and am trying to make the next steps..,

1) do I need to fit a memcal to the adaptor board? all the pics i could find point to yes, I only have the original standard V6 memcal so not sure how it would help at this stage. ( i did clip the netres to be V8, although not sure how it helps yet)

My issues with starting tuning:
1) TunerPro doesnt connect to the ECM anymore for some reason, i was able to connect in the past - have noticed the blue light on the NVRAM board turns off instantly with the key, I dont have a EEPROM burner yet (on its way), but was advised that the NVRAM was delivered with a 12P tune (purchased about a year ago so shouldnt be flat i would think). I have only previously successfully connected, nothing more - have checked cable ok in TunerPro, just no connection to the ECM.
- Is this most likely a corrupted tune or is the NVRAM battery flat (or both)?
Engine will start poorly (as expected) - fuel pump primes etc so maybe the NVRAM is ok?