Changing the VIN on a VE Commodore EBCM

User avatar
Posts: 1946
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 pm
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Vic

Changing the VIN on a VE Commodore EBCM

Postby Biggvl » Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:21 am

Soooo.... I realize that GM would have locked this down so as the wrong module isn't fitted to the wrong chassis but.... I need to find a solution to the cost issue of fitting new $600+ modules to 10+ year old cars that aren't worth much anymore.

I have MDI and TIS access but there is no way (that I can find) to alter the VIN with them in either the EBCM or SDM (ABS & Airbags). Im sure I've read somewhere that it has been done but a search didn't show up anything.

Any ideas?
According to chemistry, alcohol is a solution...

Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 2:14 pm

Re: Changing the VIN on a VE Commodore EBCM

Postby jca » Sat May 19, 2018 8:21 pm

Hi biggvl ive had the same problem this week what a night mare ive been trying to do a eeprom dump to manually change the vin but my 3m clip and eeprom.programer wont get a clean read

Return to Other Tuning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests