STFC frequency seems high?

JohnDee68
cars: L36 Vx Series 2 8/2002 Acclaim Wagon 3.8L ECOTEC II.

STFC frequency seems high?

Post by JohnDee68 »

Hi all, I am a newbie to this area but keen to understand it further. so i hope i have placed this in the right forum topic.

I have an older car, VX (2002) v6 3.8L Commodore.

I am trying to learn while diagnosing what i deem to be a higher than usual fuel consumption. about 1/3rd more than usual per tank.

I have noticed my O2 sensors fluctuate regularly between the range desired ( 1000-900mv ) during most driving. Which apparently is signs of good O2 sensors. as they respond to the variants of exhaust mix coming out of the motor well.

Using TunerProRT I see that the STFC seems to also change often, along with changes to the injector timing.

From what i understand, the STFC happens when in closed loop due to the readings from the O2 sensors and then adjusts fuel mix ( inj timing) as it requires. So I am wondering firstly what sort of frequency on a perfect motor should STFC happen and could excessive changing be caused from spark plug failures and/or fuel injector failings?

There is a slight motor rock ( like a miss or fuel imbalance ) at idle, but not apparent during revs above 1000 (my normal driving conditions).

Could there be anything else other than a sparking failing or injector issues that I should also look for to check? I am waiting for some items so I can check and confirm the injectors operations, but that will be a week or more still. Tthe spark plugs are not that high on the mileage either. Though I wonder if anyone can tell from a TunerPro log as to what is actually happening in either being fuel supply or spark supply or is it too hard to know without swapping parts out?

Appreciate any advice thanks.
vlad01
cars: VP I S
VP I executive
VP II executive
VP II executive #2
VR II executive

Re: STFC frequency seems high?

Post by vlad01 »