NVRAM problems

For discussion and distribution of custom code and hacks
User avatar
Posts: 4988
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: NVRAM problems

Postby VL400 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:15 am

Can you connect to the car (flashtool or TunerPro without the OSE plugin enabled) with the factory memcal fitted? Or if you still have a memcal with the enhanced bin, can you connect to that?

Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: NVRAM problems

Postby dusto » Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:36 pm

I can connect to the Ecu with either the NVRAM or the old Memcal in there with the OSE turned off, in tunerpro, but the flashtool when it finally gets a heart beat returns ECU unknown

The screenshots are not mine

both jumpers are on VT and the R/W

i only get the memcal error when the NVRAM is fitted,
all the settings and plugin etc are all per the guide ose1.5

ive attached the Bin file that i am using
L67 e85.BIN
(128 KiB) Downloaded 55 times


ive tried using my spare ecu still no love and also different cables ive had over the years,

Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: NVRAM problems

Postby dusto » Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:13 pm

ive uploaded some screens and log

flastune results.png
flastune results.png (48.21 KiB) Viewed 924 times

log.txt
OSE Enanced flas tool v1.51
(6.59 KiB) Downloaded 56 times

flastune box.png
flastune box.png (9.06 KiB) Viewed 924 times

flastune settings.png
tunerpro settings 1.png

tunerpro settings 2.png

User avatar
Posts: 4812
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: NVRAM problems

Postby delcowizzid » Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:08 pm

Did you disconnect the battery when you swapped to the nvram
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: NVRAM problems

Postby dusto » Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:42 pm

Photo of the chip and jumper settings, these have been unchanged since i revived the chip from bigvl

[attachment=0]IMG_20180205_181735.jpg[/attachment
i fitted the nvram with the ecu unplugged from car
Attachments
IMG_20180205_181735.jpg

Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: NVRAM problems

Postby dusto » Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:54 pm

when i put in the original memcal (The1) i can connect to the PCM on the logger v2 mode, it lets me download the BIN and all the other things there
but it just wont connect to the NVRAM and even on logger v2 mode returns the unknown ECU. the cable is the one i got from envious customs so i could calibrate my fuel guage and set the airbag system etc, he made point that a cheaper cable may not stay connected and that could potentially brick your dash or other things you where flashing with it, so i doubt the cable is the problem nor none of my wiring or my current bin,, so no memcal error on my old memcal, same bin but slightly different timing tables, so shouldn't really make any difference to this problem, but as soon as the nvram goes in its memcal error 51

has to be a dodgy NVRAM?

User avatar
Posts: 4094
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am

Re: NVRAM problems

Postby The1 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 8:58 pm

Do you have a burner? If so try this guide to read the nvram back after burning and compair

EEPROM Burning Bin Stacking and Verifying Data Guide.pdf

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5675
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: NVRAM problems

Postby antus » Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:17 pm

Yes, the NVRAM does sound corrupted. You can get a minipro tl866cs programmer pretty cheap from ebay and fix it yourself. This is recommended as you can use it this time and in the future should you need it agian. Failing that biggvl should be able to fix it up, or I can. I'd also recommend keeping RW unset until you have everything working as it can prevent this from occurring while plugging the nvram and/or if the wrong file is accidentally uploaded to the car or the wrong xdf is used etc.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: NVRAM problems

Postby dusto » Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:18 pm

ill give it a go, i had a cheap one and it was playing up the other day, thats why i went with the nvram,
ill report back soon

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5675
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: NVRAM problems

Postby antus » Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:25 pm

Be super careful lifting the nvram out. Its easy to bend the last pins and they are thin. Use a really small flathead, just in from the ends, and do each end a tiny bit, then the other end etc. It'll want to pop out at one end without taking the other with it.You'll need to hold the free end and then move the still attached end to get it right. Its not impossible you just need a bit of patience and to be ready for it. Also take note of the orientation when you put it back in. The dot goes down the end of the socket with the notch in it, or use your pic above as a reference.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

PreviousNext

Return to Custom Code

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests