VN V8 xdf

General Tuning Questions And Discussions
blackvr
cars: VNV8 Commodore

VN V8 xdf

Post by blackvr »

Guys, I am new to the delco tuning... I have mainly done Mitsubishi and Nissan eprom writing ( with Tuner Pro). I have a friends VNV8 that I have just rebuilt with a stroker kit and 286 Crane Cam. From past experience, I reckon I will have to upsize the injectors. Therefore, I will definitely need to redo the eprom.

I have the readers and eprom burning gear and feel pretty comfortable with the whole thing. I have checked the xdf files listed on this site, but am not sure which version I use to read the bin I have pulled from the memcal. I really need to work out why you label them with the prefixes.

Is there a guide or tutorial somewhere that I can use to put me onto the right path ? Or at least point me in the direction of a suitable definition file. I have spent a lot of time reading this interesting site !

Cheers Mike
miloman
cars: vn holden

Re: VN V8 xdf

Post by miloman »

should be writen on the memcal when you take it out and take the cover off it should be on a sticker stuck to the eeprom
like mine has written ATJN and if you look in the bin section under ATJN you see the $5D under it .
Look for your bin file there and you will see which xdf you need
antus
Site Admin
cars: TX Gemini 2L Twincam
TX Gemini SR20 18psi
Datsun 1200 Ute
Subaru Blitzen '06 EZ30 4th gen, 3.0R Spec B

Post by antus »

yep thats 100% correct, but also condider OSE12S or P and the serial mods to get the 8192 baud logging...
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: http://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396
blackvr

Post by blackvr »

Thanks guys, I reckon I can read the rom now. I have a ASBX9285memcal, and I used the $5D def file to read it.