202 Turbo Tuning Gremlins - Cleanup Help

General Tuning Questions And Discussions
RedWagonVC
cars: VC Commodore Wagon 202 Delco
BMW 740iL E38

202 Turbo Tuning Gremlins - Cleanup Help

Post by RedWagonVC »

Calling clever tuners!

My friend (budwizer) and I have been working on my turbo 202 project on and off for a few years now.

It was NA first, and running on a tune we tweaked on a standard 202 a while back that originally came from this forum. It has wideband, NVRAM 2bar.

I guess my thoughts right now are - are we missing some fundamentals or some key knowledge that's giving us gremlins.

The main issue I am struggling with now is idling and free-revving. It will idle a bit rough at around 950rpm and 12.5afr, given time it will start to oscillate up and down by say ~50rpm until the high speed fan turns on which will stop the oscillation immediately. It will start again once the fan turns off. It will also stumble over itself and oscillate badly with light throttle on the spot (say 2-5%tps) between 1200 and 2000rpm.
And at low speed and low load it will jerk back and forth.

Thing is, I can 'fix' all of that by increasing the VE values under IAC-idle MAP threshold and putting what looks like way too much fuel in the VE table at 30-40kpa across the rev range. But it then runs rich under some light driving scenarios and it 'idles' at 1300-1500rpm. And the idle variation value sits at zero which makes me think it doesnt consider itself idling. The IAC wont close to under about 50steps to reduce the idle and the throttle stop screw seems to have no effect
I have several bins and logs from various times I've tried to resolve this which I can post. As there will be other cleanup bits probably required too. But it's driving me nuts that my knowledge isn't good enough to figure it out!