Checksum Help

General Tuning Questions And Discussions
Aedakin
cars: 77 El Camino Classic
86 K5
94 C1500

Checksum Help

Post by Aedakin »

I am new to actually using TP. I find myself unable to edit a bin due to a checksum issue. I can also not try to create an set due to a checksum issue.

What checksum do I need for an 06 GM P59?

And how do I use it?

I understand the function of the bin and xdf, but what does the checksum do?

Thank you for any help
antus
Site Admin
cars: TX Gemini 2L Twincam
TX Gemini SR20 18psi
Datsun 1200 Ute
Subaru Blitzen '06 EZ30 4th gen, 3.0R Spec B

Re: Checksum Help

Post by antus »

the checksum provides a way for the operating system to see if any unintended changes have been made to the data. this might happen in the case of a hardware failure, or a bad flash of a factory update. If the calibration or the operating system can be shown to be damaged it should throw a check engine light and run a safe mode to prevent possible damage because of for example some far out and incorrect spark timings due to a corrupt file.

For how to create the checksums, look at an xdf that does it, and combine that with other information on this site. I see some of the newer threads are slightly incorrect. On the P59 the ranges are not the same between different OS but there is header information in the bin that tells you where the segments start and stop for that OS. I cant find my information at the moment, but you would look for address ranges near the start of the file, then sum those areas. If you find any thread talking about P59 sum ranges and specifying addresses directly, that wont apply to all operating systems. I'll update the post if I find the information.

Edit the information is here. See the data starting at 0x500 for the start and end addresses for the other segments. Combine this with other details about how to create checksums for the P01 and P59 pcms. viewtopic.php?f=42&t=6240&p=92405#p92405