Best way to compare two .bins side by side?

General Tuning Questions And Discussions
DethRattles
cars: 2004 Grand am gt

Best way to compare two .bins side by side?

Post by DethRattles »

I need to check out these two bins that i have . One is for a 2004 grand am gt and the other is for an se. I want to see if there are any slight changes between either pcms. I had to get a junkyard bcm and didnt know about programming a new one(i thought it was a strait swap) Then i had to get the matching pcm and was told from the junkyard that they were from a gt. The vin states their from an se version. It's bothering me but i dont have the money to spend for a brand new bcm or used gt bcm/pcm.

I'm new to tuning and would like to know the best free software to open these bins. Ive learned how to make an xdf file in pchammer but i dont know if there's a compare option that will flag inconsistencies. If anyone could help I'd appreciate it and if you want the bins to try it yourself then their all yours. I just need/want this done for sanity reasons :)
gmtech825

Re: Best way to compare two .bins side by side?

Post by gmtech825 »

DethRattles

Post by DethRattles »

gmtech825 wrote:i like Hxd hex editor

https://mh-nexus.de/en/downloads.php?product=HxD20
When anything says hex it scares me, i know zero about all of those numbers. I was hoping of a more novice type thing unless what you say is easy and i just have to click on a few things. But then how do i figure out what the hex differences are referring to?
ironduke
cars: Mainly GM trucks, a Cruze and an Equinox for dailys..

Post by ironduke »

You can open both files in a hex editor and most editors have a compare function.. Between using that and universal patcher you can get an idea of what the differences are.. Ignore any differences in the eprom area since that will be very different.

Can post the bins up here, I'm sure someone will jump in and check them out..