What do I need to buy to tune my worked VN 5L?

Programs / Tools / Scripts
jon
cars: VN calais 5L
VX SS

What do I need to buy to tune my worked VN 5L?

Post by jon »

Could someone please help me out with a parts list on what I need to real time tune my Vn 5L. I am a mechanic by trade and have a vn project car with a memcal that is not right for the engine. I have a laptop ready to go. Just some hints on the replacement for the memcal where to buy it all from.
Thanks, Jon
Holden202T

Re: What do I need to buy to tune my worked VN 5L?

Post by Holden202T »

theres a few ways you can do this:

1. use data logs to make changes to the tune offline, then erase and re-burn the changes back to the stock memcal, and just keep doing that till you happy with it. downside, very slow method and requires uv eraser and eprom programmer and memcal adaptor for programmer.

2. get the realtime kit available in the for sale section here from VL400 which will allow you to data log better than a vn/vp data logging, and will also allow you to read and write to the computer in realtime while you drive if you wish. VL400 can supply you with serial or usb interface whichever suits your needs.

the second option is obviously more cost, but it is also something you can move between cars and once you've finished tuning a car you can just burn the tune to a stock memcal and then you don't need the realtime computer in that car anymore.
jon
VX SS

Post by jon »