Elmscan5 + Proscan 5.9...will I be able to fire-up the LS1?

Programs / Tools / Scripts
ls1toz
cars: LX Torana Hatch
WB 1 Tonner
VY II LS1 Calais

Elmscan5 + Proscan 5.9...will I be able to fire-up the LS1?

Post by ls1toz »

Hi guys, I'm eager to learn how to do what the majority of forum members are doing in order to get a project of mine up and running: LX Torana Hatch with a VY II LS1/Auto transplant. So, as I'm very new to all this, I was hoping to clarify whether the tools I have will lead me to the outcome I want; 'to be able to start the LS1 in the Toz without keys, as I purchased a stolen/recovered Calais from pickles without them.'

So far, I've purchased:
-Elmscan5 compact USB cable.
-Proscan 5.9 Software.

I know this combo works to reset Airbag Faults etc., so I'm assuming I'll be able to use the above to disable VATS; is this the case? If so, is there anything else I have to do before starting the engine successfully – and can the gurus recommend some literature to read / links / PDF’s etc. to scour in order to achieve the aforementioned [as I haven’t even plugged the cable in, yet - and have no experience reading/writing commands].

Thanks in anticipation for any thoughts/pointers, Cheers Peter :thumbup:
Jayme

Re: Elmscan5 + Proscan 5.9...will I be able to fire-up the L

Post by Jayme »

sorry mate, you cant use an elm to disable vats. as disabling vats requires a reflash of the tune in the pcm. elm can only scan.
to do what you want you have a few options in terms of software, none of them free.... Hptuners, Efilive, Jetdst, etc.

your other option is to post the pcm to someone who already has the tools needed to reflash ls1 pcms and can flash it for you to disable vats, then post is back. a few of us on this forum have the tools to do it, myself included.
ls1toz
WB 1 Tonner
VY II LS1 Calais

Post by ls1toz »