EFI Live 4, ALDL, developing "definition"

Programs / Tools / Scripts
ashhhhh

EFI Live 4, ALDL, developing "definition"

Post by ashhhhh »

Hey all,

Im brand new to this whole deal so forgive me if I sound like an idiot. :lol:

Basically ive come into the world of EFI Live (4) and ALDL while trying to troubleshoot an issue with vehicle ive restored, the glorious Lada Niva.
This model uses a GM/Rochester 700 TBI and a GM ECU.

I built an ALDL interface and bought a full licence for EFI Live. Im using a definition created by a Lada fan decades ago, this is working well enough for basic stuff but there are no macro's or anything, cannot send commands etc. Also the timing stats are wild and I think, inaccurate. (60BTDC..)

My question is, how do I go about obtaining data to allow me to update this definition? Any guru's on this tool?

Cheers,
Ash
Attachments
Drive.jpg
NIVATEST.XML
(44.05 KiB) Downloaded 350 times
ECU.jpg
delcowizzid

Re: EFI Live 4, ALDL, developing "definition"

Post by delcowizzid »

It's probably slow speed 160 baud aldl and can only send data out not receive commands
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem
antus
Site Admin
cars: TX Gemini 2L Twincam
TX Gemini SR20 18psi
Datsun 1200 Ute
Subaru Blitzen '06 EZ30 4th gen, 3.0R Spec B

Post by antus »

It could be fast. Its got a 1997 date on it, and I wouldnt be suprised if updates to the P4 platform included high speed data.

There are XML files in the program app dir. You could try modifying them to get the best bang for buck, but in the longer term you would probably be best creating a new ADX definition in tuner pro - its a much more capable product.

You can look at some of our definitions, such as in the OSE12P OS to see how a definition should be made (macros, configuration, etc).

Can you post up a picture of the circuit board?