VZ V6 E55 ECU Brute Force Reset Tool & PIM Relink

Programs / Tools / Scripts
User avatar
Posts: 4474
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am

VZ V6 E55 ECU Brute Force Reset Tool & PIM Relink

Postby The1 » Tue Jan 19, 2021 6:33 pm

Tool to Brute Force a Reset on a VZ V6 ECU on the Bench or in a Vehicle. (Worst case about 4hrs in vehicle)
Reset PIM with Known Pin Code
Relink ECU/PIM

In most cases swap out a dead ecu in the vehicle with a second hand ecu then run this tool to reset it, then with known pin code for the vehicle reset the PIM and relink to the reset used ecu.

Options:
Starts at pin 0000 and goes to 9999 (Starting Pin Also User Selectable)
Has Adjustable time between pin attempts
Bus Silence Option (Maybe needed in vehicle).
Auto Security Timer Check and Reset, Then retry pin again.
PIM Reset Option
ECU / PIM Relink Option
ECU Information Page
ECU VIN Write Option

Tested with:
VXDIAG
Tactrix
cardaq

It should work with any J2534 Cable that can do Passthrough.

This is a follow on from all the testing in this thread. Thanks Tazzi
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=6807&hilit=vz+ecu

Following on From the Closure of Holden if you need your cars PIM Pin code see here
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=7076&hilit=pim+pin

V1.4
Added ReadMemoryByAddress – 23 RAM Download 0000-FB1E Range
Added Custom PID Request

V1.3
Added Reset PIM
Added Relink PIM/ECU
Added ECU Calibration Information
Added Write VIN

V1.2
Added Seed/Key Unlock
Fixed Missed Pins due to A4 Security Timer

V1.1
IronDuke Code & Menu System
IronDuke Fix DLL & Cable Connection Issues!!
Added User Selectable Start Pin
Added Cable Connect / Disconnect Option
Added Debug Option
Added Better Detection for ECU Already Unlocked

V1.0
First Release
Attachments
E55Tool-VZv1.4.7z
(28.33 KiB) Downloaded 33 times

User avatar
Posts: 2424
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: WA

Re: VZ V6 E55 ECU Brute Force Reset Tool

Postby Tazzi » Tue Jan 19, 2021 7:17 pm

Awesome work!!!!!!!!! :thumbup:

Just a heads up, chrome doesnt allow me to download it at all.
Your Local Aussie Reverse Engineer
Site:www.envyouscustoms.com
Mob:+61406 140 726
Image

User avatar
Posts: 4474
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am

Re: VZ V6 E55 ECU Brute Force Reset Tool

Postby The1 » Tue Jan 19, 2021 8:06 pm

Yes new chrome versions are more heavy on security now and also block some file extensions from non HTTPS sites. it's the new "Safe Browsing" thing.

See here to turn it off.
https://www.majorgeeks.com/content/page ... ed_it.html


Thanks for all your work to mate, all your previous posts and information with hours of testing sped up this process.

Also thanks to Gareth for testing in Vehicle, for some reason his cardaq-m cable froze up after channel selection no matter what we did, so i sent him down a vxdiag cable and worked from then on.

User avatar
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: VZ V6 E55 ECU Brute Force Reset Tool

Postby Gampy » Tue Jan 19, 2021 8:28 pm

Another trick is to change the extension when you down load ... Thus in this case, in the Save As dialog change E55Tool-VZv1.00.zip -> E55Tool-VZv1.00.zip.txt
Then rename it back to E55Tool-VZv1.00.zip once downloaded.

This way you do not need to disable the security.
Improve Knowledge -=- Share Yours!

Posts: 251
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:32 pm

Re: VZ V6 E55 ECU Brute Force Reset Tool

Postby ironduke » Tue Jan 19, 2021 9:03 pm

With chrome when it blocks the download click on the view files on the right of the download bar after it’s been blocked. Once it opens the downloads folder in a new tab you can select to keep it and it will the. Download and save it.. little bit of a pita but not horrible..

User avatar
Posts: 4474
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am

Re: VZ V6 E55 ECU Brute Force Reset Tool

Postby The1 » Fri Feb 05, 2021 10:24 am

Hoepfully this is working for everyone, feedback welcome.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6562
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: VZ V6 E55 ECU Brute Force Reset Tool

Postby antus » Fri Feb 05, 2021 10:28 pm

Its not just this app, its the entire site. Google have picked some verifyably false positives and black listed the whole site. Ive been through all the processes I can, Ive responded, ive clicked to re-scan but there is no way I can get a human involved and the machines have it wrong. I sent one of the same false positives to microsoft and they removed the black flag in windows defender within 15 minutes, but that does not fix google, and in turn does not fix chrome and firefox. Unfortunately you just have to click through it. If anyone knows what I can do about this send me a PM.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 251
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:32 pm

Re: VZ V6 E55 ECU Brute Force Reset Tool

Postby ironduke » Sat Feb 06, 2021 3:11 am

I don't have an E55 to try it with, but..

using a y cable connected to an E92 ecm I tried your program while logging the canbus and your program opens then closes without any messages? or errors? too fast to see what happens, lol.. Nothing showing on the log either?

Just using an MDI 1 for connection.. I'm sure it's something I'm doing? or I missed the messages where it tried to talk to the ecm and since it's an E92 it errored out..

wish I could give you a better review, I love to play with new stuff, lol.. I just don't have an E55 to try it with..

User avatar
Posts: 4474
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am

Re: VZ V6 E55 ECU Brute Force Reset Tool

Postby The1 » Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:33 am

thanks ironduke, prob could put in a error state to detect a VZ E55 but should be obvious what the program is intended for. My post wasn't directed at you, just a general observation that one out of 32 downloads may have had success or fail. :thumbup:

Posts: 251
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:32 pm

Re: VZ V6 E55 ECU Brute Force Reset Tool

Postby ironduke » Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:45 am

The1 wrote:thanks ironduke, prob could put in a error state to detect a VZ E55 but should be obvious what the program is intended for. My post wasn't directed at you, just a general observation that one out of 32 downloads may have had success or fail. :thumbup:


Yup, and I get that, lol.. Just wanted to explain my download and my experience with it.. trying to help any way I can, even if it's wrong.. heh heh..

Next

Return to Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests