DIY Hub Dyno -Baller version

Programs / Tools / Scripts
Tre-Cool
cars: VY SS UTE, VX Drag Car

DIY Hub Dyno -Baller version

Post by Tre-Cool »

Something that I've been toying with for a few years, was adding a Hub Dyno along side my existing chassis dyno for my own/customers higher HP vehicles.

I had received quotes over the years from Mainline & Dyno Dynamics, but could never justify the $95-110k asking price, since I can go weeks without using my existing one. So I then decided to go down the path of "building" my own, borrowing idea's from some existing units people had made already & publicized on youtube etc.

So i started investigating my options, I started with getting a quote for some retarders back in Nov 2019 from a local supplier.

CFK-390(192V) @$8,810 plus GST
CFK-500(192V) @$9,493 plus GST
Max Brake Torque NM - 3370 / 3820
Made by KLAM in Spain

Thinking bigger is always better, I went with the CFK-500's (realized i definitely went over-kill once they arrived) :lol:

Control System - Off the shelf from sportsdevices.com
SP6 - AWD capable/upgradable (If i want to make some smaller front pods later on)
$10.8k once customs was paid

Retarders took a couple of months from ordering to rocking up back in Nov 2020, I then ordered the control system around feb this year.

Fabrication wise, I can't weld to save my life. Luckily one of my friends has a business that does Drill rig refurbs, so they produce a lot of replacement parts & thus have a Drafty & boiley's on staff.
So with a design done in cad.

they started fab a few months back (in-between jobs) & on friday we dropped one of the retarders into a frame after fitting wheels for test fitting, before final welds/modifications are done before it get's painted.