VE commodore TCM

Information and discussion of EFI hardware and specifications
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Castlemaine, Vic

VE commodore TCM

Postby pman92 » Mon Aug 01, 2022 11:36 am

Hey guys,

I'm working on a April 2008 VE commodore V6 with 4 speed transmission. It uses an E77 engine ecu and separate TCM on RH A pillar.
The vehicle was fine until it sat for months and had a flat battery. After charging it up again and getting it going it is now stuck in 3rd gear, engine ECU reports no communication with transmission module, and scan tool will not connect to TCM.

I have removed the TCM and confirmed battery power to pin 32, ignition power at pin 31, and good earth to the big terminal (forget what number it was).

I'm leaning towards a faulty TCM but before I commit is there any other power/earth requirements that should allow me to communicate with this module?

Also I've never replaced one of these before. Are they common to fail? Are they part of the security system like a lot of other modules, or can I chuck a second hand one in?

Cheers
VR-VY Holden BCM Simulator: LINK
Ford Smartlock Bypass Module: LINK

User avatar
Posts: 2374
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 pm
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Vic

Re: VE commodore TCM

Postby Gareth » Mon Aug 01, 2022 12:18 pm

I believe the ABS (ECBM) is in the data line prior to the TCM?

I could have sworn all 4 speeds where controlled via the ECU and only 5 speeds had a TCM...
According to chemistry, alcohol is a solution...

Posts: 439
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Castlemaine, Vic

Re: VE commodore TCM

Postby pman92 » Mon Aug 01, 2022 12:48 pm

TCM is between the ABS and BCM.
Car doesn't start with TCM disconnected but does with it connected, so I'm assuming the data is getting through (or it wouldn't start at all, ECU wouldn't be able to reach BCM).
Attachments
16593221070024062726119378421809.jpg
VR-VY Holden BCM Simulator: LINK
Ford Smartlock Bypass Module: LINK

User avatar
Posts: 2374
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 pm
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Vic

Re: VE commodore TCM

Postby Gareth » Mon Aug 01, 2022 1:14 pm

Hmmm, my diagram says different...
commodore ve.png
According to chemistry, alcohol is a solution...

User avatar
Posts: 2374
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 pm
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Vic

Re: VE commodore TCM

Postby Gareth » Mon Aug 01, 2022 1:17 pm

A57 - TCM
A16 - ECBM
A191 - Head light level
A35 - ECM
According to chemistry, alcohol is a solution...

Posts: 439
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Castlemaine, Vic

Re: VE commodore TCM

Postby pman92 » Mon Aug 01, 2022 1:20 pm

Is A11 BCM?
If so it seems the same (between ABS and BCM)
VR-VY Holden BCM Simulator: LINK
Ford Smartlock Bypass Module: LINK

User avatar
Posts: 2374
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 pm
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Vic

Re: VE commodore TCM

Postby Gareth » Mon Aug 01, 2022 1:54 pm

A11 - Multifunction control module
According to chemistry, alcohol is a solution...

Posts: 439
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Castlemaine, Vic

Re: VE commodore TCM

Postby pman92 » Mon Aug 01, 2022 3:02 pm

It was a faulty TCM. Second hand one fitted and all good. Its not a security module and didn't require linking.
Attachments
20220801_150114.jpg
VR-VY Holden BCM Simulator: LINK
Ford Smartlock Bypass Module: LINK

User avatar
Posts: 2374
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 pm
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Vic

Re: VE commodore TCM

Postby Gareth » Mon Aug 01, 2022 3:09 pm

Ha! That’s exactly how I mark dud modules after removal :lol:
According to chemistry, alcohol is a solution...

User avatar
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 6:50 pm

Re: VE commodore TCM

Postby hsv08 » Tue Aug 02, 2022 7:53 pm

Yeah those T42 TCMs are really prone to failing these days. I dont know why but they are. I keep a few in stock these days. Be aware though, even though VZ and VE V6 Share the same TCM ( Different partn numbers though) They are not cross programmable. They do brick if you load a VZ OS on a VE and vice versa.
They are used in the VZ V6, VZ LS2, VE S1 LE0 with the 4L60e or 4L65e

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest