Pcm Hacking Nvram/aldl vs Moates Apu1

Information and discussion of EFI hardware and specifications
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 11:26 am

Pcm Hacking Nvram/aldl vs Moates Apu1

Postby VSRaptor » Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:23 pm

Just wondering, is there any pro and cons between using pcm hacking nvram/aldl logger and the moates apu1 for vn to vs commodore V6 and V8?
Moates package is I guess a all in one unit burner, writer, logger and emulator.

Anyone had exposure to both or a moates?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5311
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Pcm Hacking Nvram/aldl vs Moates Apu1

Postby antus » Fri Aug 31, 2018 4:54 pm

Ive heard of people having trouble logging through the moates. Never found out why. The nvram can do things like knock logging where the OS writes back to nvram, this is not possible on the moates as there is no provision for the ecm side to save changes to the emulated rom. If you can get the logging working (likely adx changes) the knock counts might not be a show stopper, but it will be harder to get help as the community around it is small to not present. I think you also need a G6 adaper for the pcms with the moates.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 3082
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: Pcm Hacking Nvram/aldl vs Moates Apu1

Postby Dylan » Fri Aug 31, 2018 5:00 pm

Antus mentioned the most important part briefly.

The support you get with pcm hacking hardware.
You won't get any better than what offered here.

User avatar
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: WA

Re: Pcm Hacking Nvram/aldl vs Moates Apu1

Postby Tazzi » Fri Aug 31, 2018 5:41 pm

+1 on Dylans comment.

Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 11:26 am

Re: Pcm Hacking Nvram/aldl vs Moates Apu1

Postby VSRaptor » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:03 pm

Dylan wrote:Antus mentioned the most important part briefly.

The support you get with pcm hacking hardware.
You won't get any better than what offered here.




Yeah I have read about that too, Moates is better suited for GM USA cars and different requirements etc

Posts: 2337
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Bayside, Melbourne, Victoria

Re: Pcm Hacking Nvram/aldl vs Moates Apu1

Postby VX L67 Getrag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:22 pm

This is also what I have been trying to explain to you!

Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 3:15 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Pcm Hacking Nvram/aldl vs Moates Apu1

Postby VK_3800 » Sat Sep 01, 2018 6:09 am

I have an Autoprom, its not a bad setup but today I would probably buy PCMHacking gear instead as its physically better integrated and allows wideband learning. I may do yet but I wouldn't get rid of the Autoprom because its a bit more universal.

The Autoprom is more portable if you're working on different vehicles, and you're not as restricted on the ECU/program. Although most are probably only working with their own stuff and 11P/12P or you could set up a spare ECU for it. The NVRAM and comms module in an '808 is physically simpler - I have three cables rather than one when everything is plugged in, and have to find somewhere to put the box. Switches for diagnostic mode and pass-through can be handy on different cars.

Cost was a bit more expensive and to use the Autoprom with 12P I had to find a VR manual ECU with ALDL, although you could also use a comms module to provide ALDL I believe (but then even more expensive and you're only an NVRAM module away from buying both setups). You do also need a couple of memcal adapters to round out the package - one for writing chips without removing from the memcal, and one for attaching chips or the emulator cable to the ECU. You can make the ALDL cables yourself for different cars as its just an RJ45 plug on the Autoprom.

I do have issues with it being finicky with Tunerpro when trying to log and real time tune at the same time. It works with ALDLDroid on Android though, and I mainly use that in the car these days, then upload/download log files and make more detailed changes on the desktop computer with Tunerpro. You don't need the separate Flashtool for uploading to the emulator or writing chips as everything is built in to Tunerpro (and ALDLDroid), and it only takes a few seconds to write an entire bin file to emulator or flash chip. Chip support is fairly limited though compared to a proper burner.

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests