BIN Check Please

EPROM EEPROM SRAM NVRAM Flash chips, reading/writing hardware and software
Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:02 am

BIN Check Please

Postby v6bucket » Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:29 pm

I'm setting up a new laptop, confirming that everything is working correctly & having some trouble with the GQ-4X. When I click on "open file" it doesn't show .bin that I need until I highlight show "All Files". Using the same file on my home pc the GQ-4X shows the bin that I need.
Can someone please check that the bin has the correct stuff(technical term) in the correct places, I don't understand Hex etc. The bin is 12P V112.
Eco1.bin
(32 KiB) Downloaded 80 times
"Definition of a Drag Racer: A person who spends money he doesn't have on parts he doesn't need to impress people he doesn't know." - Grumpy Jenkins----- Poverty---

User avatar
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am

Re: BIN Check Please

Postby The1 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:33 pm

not hard to do, checkout the guide i did called "EEPROM Burning Bin Stacking and Verifying Data Guide.pdf" in FAQ

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5629
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: BIN Check Please

Postby antus » Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:31 pm

File looks ok, cas calibration and operating system on it (can see OSE12Pro Flsh and OSE12Pro Prog at the end of it in a hex editor showing OS is present).
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:42 pm
Location: Perth WA

Re: BIN Check Please

Postby FXST02 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:57 pm

Using Tunerpro to read the bin?

If so, you need to go to Tunerpro Preferences, General and associate *.bin

Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:02 am

Re: BIN Check Please

Postby v6bucket » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:10 pm

Thanks all, just after another set of eyes to make sure it was ok.
Still not sure why the laptop with the GQ-4X connected doesn't show the bin file when loading the bin to burn onto a memcal, until the "All Files" is highlighted, both my PC & laptop appear to be setup the same.
"Definition of a Drag Racer: A person who spends money he doesn't have on parts he doesn't need to impress people he doesn't know." - Grumpy Jenkins----- Poverty---

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5629
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: BIN Check Please

Postby antus » Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:04 pm

Is it upper case vs lower case bin? The one you have here is lower case, and the GQ software lists upper and lower but UPPER is the default. Bit strange, but maybe thats it.
Attachments
gq BIN vs bin.png
gq BIN vs bin.png (61.96 KiB) Viewed 2210 times
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:02 am

Re: BIN Check Please

Postby v6bucket » Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:25 am

Don't know why, but the laptop is now working as it should.
"Definition of a Drag Racer: A person who spends money he doesn't have on parts he doesn't need to impress people he doesn't know." - Grumpy Jenkins----- Poverty---

Return to Chip/Memcal Reading/Writing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests