VS Auto to Manual PCM Hardware Conversion

Want a chip to suit your application? Ask here. Include as much detail in your request as possible.
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:31 pm

VS Auto to Manual PCM Hardware Conversion

Postby V1704 » Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:38 pm

Hey guys, been lurking the forums for a while now, but only just signed up.

I'm planning on putting an l67 out of a vs series 2 statesman into a vc commodore (and putting a T5 manual behind it), and am up to planning the computer side of things.
I've read up a little on the physical differences (or lack of hardware, however you would like to see it) between the vs auto pcm and vs manual pcm, but don't feel confident in making the changes to my auto pcm myself.
Is there anyone who still actively changes these for other people? A lot of the threads I've found are several years old. I'd also be interested in having my memcal tuned to remove VATS and add manual flags while going about it.

If this is in the wrong area, please let me know.

Thank you,
V

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:31 pm

Re: VS Auto to Manual PCM Hardware Conversion

Postby V1704 » Wed Apr 18, 2018 3:27 pm

Bump.

Posts: 3044
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: VS Auto to Manual PCM Hardware Conversion

Postby Dylan » Wed Apr 18, 2018 3:59 pm

The VS L67 auto PCM will run both transmissions.
Just re work your engine loom to suit the manual trans and update you calibration to suit.

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:31 pm

Re: VS Auto to Manual PCM Hardware Conversion

Postby V1704 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:24 pm

Isn't it the VT pcm that accepts both? Don't I have to change the board like so with the VS pcm?
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1377&start=40#p15740

Posts: 3044
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: VS Auto to Manual PCM Hardware Conversion

Postby Dylan » Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:43 am

VS Ecotec came in manual. Same PCM as L67.
You haven't stated what trans or speed signal type you're running.
If you're running a Hall Effect signal I still believe the Ecotec PCM will take both. There's a thread on here about this.

Online
User avatar
Posts: 4412
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: Wellington NZ

Re: VS Auto to Manual PCM Hardware Conversion

Postby delcowizzid » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:36 am

Some ecus have the t5 bits some don't there was a list online of serial numbers thAt are on the barcode stuck on the ecu plug that had t5 internals
If Its Got Gas Or Ass Count Me In.if it cant be fixed with a hammer you have an electrical problem

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:31 pm

Re: VS Auto to Manual PCM Hardware Conversion

Postby V1704 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:03 pm

Hey, sorry, I've posted similar questions on a few sites so I forget what info I have and haven't posted.

It's a the factory pcm to match the series 2 vs l67 (pink plug barcode starts with 33806L), so according to this site it should only have the hardware to accept the auto signal?:
http://www.kalmaker.com.au/phpbb3/viewt ... ?f=4&t=800

Behind it I'm putting a T5 manual box and having a new speedo cable made to have vss output and a mechanical cable output. I've been told merely changing the tune won't be enough with my pcm, since the computer will still think it's auto (if I use a sine wave generator for the output)>, so I should use a hall effect signal generator and have my pcm modified?

I want to retain the factory vc speedo, so I'm trying to work out what the best way to match up the T5 transmission, and get the memcal tuned, etc.

If I've missed anything or more info is needed let me know please.

Thanks

User avatar
Posts: 4968
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: VS Auto to Manual PCM Hardware Conversion

Postby VL400 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:45 pm

Open it up and see if the parts are installed .. https://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic ... =728#p6018
Need to add these if not .. viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1377&p=15740&p15740#p15740

User avatar
Posts: 3994
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am

Re: VS Auto to Manual PCM Hardware Conversion

Postby The1 » Sat Apr 21, 2018 7:49 pm

i may still have a auto one modded to T5 here if someone is after one.

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:31 pm

Re: VS Auto to Manual PCM Hardware Conversion

Postby V1704 » Sat Apr 28, 2018 6:44 pm

Righteo, thanks for all the replies guys and sorry for the slow one. Finally got down to the shed today and popped the ecu apart. Judging by this pic and the links you've supplied it looks like I've actually got the bits on the board I need for a the manual input, yes?
So I should only need to tune my memcal to delete VATS and check the manual flags yes? If I get this done will I need to get a Hall Effect signal generator? Or will the computer be okay with a sine wave VSS and manual flags checked? I've been told it chucks a hissy fit doing this.

Thanks all, if I've missed anything please let me know.
Attachments
DSC_0032.jpg

Next

Return to Wanted

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests