304 vs sIII piston std

Want a chip to suit your application? Ask here. Include as much detail in your request as possible.
Posts: 525
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Perth

304 vs sIII piston std

Postby Dazza92VP » Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:12 pm

Does anyone have a standard sizes piston for a 304 roller block when to put the Pistons back in after knocking off glazing and found that some dropped something on one and cracked a skirt
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg

Posts: 1208
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:53 am

Re: 304 vs sIII piston std

Postby HQ355 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:21 pm

There are different sized “stock” pistons. When I bought my block and pistons from Holden they had A B or C stamped on them to designate size. Where are you located ? Duggan balancing might be able to help you, if you get really stuck I’ve got 8 here I’d have to check condition though

Posts: 525
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Perth

Re: 304 vs sIII piston std

Postby Dazza92VP » Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:32 pm

I'm in Perth I don't mind paying for postage. There wasn't anything stamped on the Pistons in regards to size but there is a b and c stamped on the block corresponding to bores I measured them all up though and we're all the same as far as I could tell. Piston measures at 101.59mm I think it was widest point

User avatar
Posts: 9759
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: 304 vs sIII piston std

Postby Holden202T » Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:27 am

i have a full set i just pulled from a VT 5Ltr i plan to knock the pistons off the rods and turf them, so i can help if you have no luck, but they are used.

Posts: 525
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Perth

Re: 304 vs sIII piston std

Postby Dazza92VP » Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:13 pm

Don't have an issue with them being used just so long as they're in ok condition

Posts: 1208
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:53 am

Re: 304 vs sIII piston std

Postby HQ355 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:35 pm

Grab the ones off 202, mine are still on the rods

User avatar
Posts: 9759
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: 304 vs sIII piston std

Postby Holden202T » Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:39 pm

lol so are mine :P

User avatar
Posts: 6343
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: Kyneton, Vic

Re: 304 vs sIII piston std

Postby vlad01 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:45 pm

Pistons are cheap, I wouldn't even bother.
I'm the director of VSH (Vlad's Spec Holden), because HSV were doing it ass about.

Posts: 525
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Perth

Re: 304 vs sIII piston std

Postby Dazza92VP » Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:09 pm

I would get new ones but I've just stuck the cleaned up old ones back in. bores just needed a scuff up with the hone and they're all good went to put no 8 back in and it wouldn't even start in the bore so had a look at it and looks like some knocked it or dropped it and the conrod has hit the inside of the skirt cracked it and pushed it outward so bottom end is basically reassembled bar one piston and you can't buy new standard Pistons anymore I've called Holden and acl/nason and they don't even have stock or make them at all

Posts: 525
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Perth

Re: 304 vs sIII piston std

Postby Dazza92VP » Thu Jan 11, 2018 2:58 pm

Thanks to Holden202t sorted out a couple of Pistons for me now just to scrap all the crap off and measure up hopefully should be ok then on to playing with the heads
Thanks all

Next

Return to Wanted

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests