unlocked E41( and t87a) swapping to another vehicle

Bosch Motronic etc ECUs and PCMs
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:27 am

unlocked E41( and t87a) swapping to another vehicle

Postby gmtech825 » Thu Sep 30, 2021 10:44 pm

I have an E41 and t87a that have been previously unlocked by hp, and installed in a truck. that vehicle was put back to stock and the modules removed. I contacted hp to see if I license these modules I'll be able to use them on another vehicle. They said that if the immobilizer was learned then they need to unlock the modules again which would cost the same as unlocking a fresh module...

I'm not sure I buy that response. The 87a lets me write a new vin, the E41 doesn't but I think after a full OS write it would take a new vin. So are they saying this because the module identifiers will be wrong and need to be cleared, or is this a money grab?

any insight,help or thread derailments are welcome

User avatar
Posts: 2539
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: WA

Re: unlocked E41( and t87a) swapping to another vehicle

Postby Tazzi » Fri Oct 01, 2021 12:24 am

Interesting. They make it sound like an OS update will undo what they have done.

Anyways, the issue is that you have to remove the old immobiliser code, then write the correct one for the next vehicle, and finally perform a immobiliser learn through SPS to make the environment identifiers all update and match.

The immo change is not something you can do by itself with any GM tools, which is why hptuners has said that.
Your Local Aussie Reverse Engineer
Site:www.envyouscustoms.com
Mob:+61406 140 726
Image

Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:27 am

Re: unlocked E41( and t87a) swapping to another vehicle

Postby gmtech825 » Fri Oct 01, 2021 1:00 am

can the immobilizer be reset with a 3b command of any sort?

User avatar
Posts: 2539
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: WA

Re: unlocked E41( and t87a) swapping to another vehicle

Postby Tazzi » Fri Oct 01, 2021 1:01 am

gmtech825 wrote:can the immobilizer be reset with a 3b command of any sort?

Unfortunately not, it’s actually an AE command, and requires sending the correct value first so the ecu accepts the code to “delink” it, then have to wait 10mins to be able to write the new code after.
Your Local Aussie Reverse Engineer
Site:www.envyouscustoms.com
Mob:+61406 140 726
Image

Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:27 am

Re: unlocked E41( and t87a) swapping to another vehicle

Postby gmtech825 » Fri Oct 01, 2021 6:43 am

Tazzi wrote:
gmtech825 wrote:can the immobilizer be reset with a 3b command of any sort?

Unfortunately not, it’s actually an AE command, and requires sending the correct value first so the ecu accepts the code to “delink” it, then have to wait 10mins to be able to write the new code after.


interesting, I will do some messing around i guess.

Return to Bosch ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest