Crowd funded open source tuning program

shmiet
cars: 1998 1500 GMC Turbo 5.7l
1965 Acadian WIP
2014 1500 Dodge EcoDiesel

Crowd funded open source tuning program

Post by shmiet »

Hi guys,

I am new to the tuning game. I really want to understand how the entire tuning process works. But this post isn't about that.

I personally have HPTuners and am OK with the cost as I only work on the odd vehicle. But, I came across this site and really like how much the users have contributed tools and info for free.

I was thinking about how great it would be if a few capable programmers came together and began developing an open-source Tuning software and interfacing hardware for the ECM(Similar to an HPTuners or EFILive software/hardware package).

-This way users wouldn't have to pay a per use cost
-They would be able to modify their own components and create custom tuners using for example Raspberry Pi

Using crowd funding, the people involved with the creation, would receive an upfront payment. They could also produce the interfacing hardware and sell that or come up with their own creations to sell. Keep in mind it would be open-source so if people had the desire they could make it themselves.

I would attempt to do this myself, however I lack the key skills in programming and computer engineering.

If I'm way off the ball feel free to tare me down.
The1

Re: Crowd funded open source tuning program

Post by The1 »

you dont mention for what this is for? For the ecu's and pcm's we support this is basicly already the case.
shmiet
1965 Acadian WIP

Post by shmiet »

To answer your first question: The purpose of the post was to simply suggest that you could change the tuning market. Not to say you havent already accomplished that; but, the information and technology that comes from things like this are endless. I'd like to think I could build my own EDGE programmer, but the demand is now not 10 years in the future when I really start to understand things.