Help with reading ABS/Airbag DTCs over elm327

Arnaud
cars: Many

Help with reading ABS/Airbag DTCs over elm327

Post by Arnaud »

Hi everyone,

Sorry if I'm being unclear or posting in the wrong place.
I searched a lot and tried my best to pick the right section beforehand.
I'm new to this whole universe and still need to learn a lot about it, so I might still have missed something.

We are a tiny 2 people software startup and we need our app to fetch DTC codes from our elm327-based reader.
We have no issue fetching engine related DTCs. But we don't get Airbag or ABS codes.

After a full day of googling, it's my understanding that we need to address those modules directly by setting some special headers on the ELM to get answer from them.
I could dig out that for GM vehicles, "AT SH 6C 58 F1" would allow me to talk to the Airbag ECU for instance.

We need to support all main suppliers for the US market.

Is there any place any where where I could find a consolidated list of those addresses? How different is it across manufacturer?
Where can I find which command to send in each case to get the codes?
Any advice on how I should proceed to achieve our goal? Any place I should look at? Any reference documentation anywhere?

Thanks a lot,
-- Arnaud
antus
Site Admin
cars: TX Gemini 2L Twincam
TX Gemini SR20 18psi
Datsun 1200 Ute
Subaru Blitzen '06 EZ30 4th gen, 3.0R Spec B

Re: Help with reading ABS/Airbag DTCs over elm327

Post by antus »