PCM Hammer Suite development

They go by many names, P01, P59, VPW, '0411 etc . Circa 1999 to 2006. All VPW OBD2 PCMs.
User avatar
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Suite development

Postby NSFW » Fri Jan 14, 2022 1:23 pm

I like the change. I just have a couple of minor changes that I'd like to see before merging it.

I've also got a kind-of-related question... Are we ready to get rid of the "If your PCM stops working, will that make your life difficult" warning? I kinda think we are, but I'd appreciate a sanity check.

P.S. Y'all know what happens if you press the . key while looking at a pull request?
Try it some time. It's the biggest easter-egg ever.
Please don't PM me with technical questions - start a thread instead, and send me a link to it. That way I can answer in public, and help other people who have the same question. Thanks!

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7247
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Suite development

Postby antus » Fri Jan 14, 2022 1:27 pm

I think we are, as well as the "you have no retried packets. were not sure what normal is, please report this to pcmhacking.net". Perhaps it could just be a number of retries to be informational, but I think we know now with the current kernel 0 is normal.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7247
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Suite development

Postby antus » Fri Jan 14, 2022 3:33 pm

@NSFW pull request for the 838 branch. Ive verified the 852 is still solid, and hquick verified the 838. https://github.com/LegacyNsfw/PcmHacks/pull/243
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 1792
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: PCM Hammer Suite development

Postby Gampy » Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:19 pm

NSFW wrote:P.S. Y'all know what happens if you press the . key while looking at a pull request?
Try it some time. It's the biggest easter-egg ever.

Nothing ...

Now I'm curious.
Intelligence is in the details!

It is easier not to learn bad habits, then it is to break them!

If I was here to win a popularity contest, their would be no point, so I wouldn't be here!

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7247
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Suite development

Postby antus » Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:25 pm

It worked for me, but I wont post a spoiler, at least not yet. I'll send you a PM :)
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 1792
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: PCM Hammer Suite development

Postby Gampy » Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:42 pm

Thanks Antus ...

On another note, can we please get away from using 'null' and using 'string.Empty' and 'string.IsNullOrWhitespace(value)' instead.

Thank You!
Intelligence is in the details!

It is easier not to learn bad habits, then it is to break them!

If I was here to win a popularity contest, their would be no point, so I wouldn't be here!

User avatar
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 3:27 am

Re: PCM Hammer Suite development

Postby joukoy » Thu Jan 27, 2022 10:09 pm

I made a copy of pcmlogger, modified it to .net 4.0 compatible (removed J2534 support) and included to UniversalPatcher.
Not published yet, fixing...

Now I try to make "FAST_MODE" (Passive mode?) logging work (user selection), but it is not really fast mode. (Yes, responseType = 0x24)
Is it possible that PCM is not sending data with full rate in this mode?

Using OBDX Pro, P59 PCM
With 8 parameters, query time:
Passive: 200 ms
Active: 75 ms

With 24 parameters:
Passive: not working
Active: 175ms

So... maybe it is better to forget "FAST_MODE" ?

User avatar
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Suite development

Postby NSFW » Sat Jan 29, 2022 1:51 pm

I still think it should be possible to get the FAST_MODE approach to work, and be faster than the way logging works now. I just haven't figured it out.

Pete posted something here that might do it:
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=7195&p=113864#p113864
Please don't PM me with technical questions - start a thread instead, and send me a link to it. That way I can answer in public, and help other people who have the same question. Thanks!

User avatar
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Suite development

Postby NSFW » Wed Feb 09, 2022 4:21 pm

FAST_MODE is gone, and there's now FastLogger class and a SlowLogger class, depending on whether or not the device supports streaming. :)

Or more accurately it depends on whether or not I/we have figured out how to get the device to listen to a stream. The XPro definitely does, and I think AVTs and any J2534 device will as well, but I'm not sure about AllPro and ObdLink.

If anyone wants to play with it, the changes are in the nsfw/logger-improvements branch. I'd love to know whether the current code works with AVT and J2534 devices.

The only catch is that it won't start streaming until the logging profile has enough parameters to require four DPIDs. For now you just have to pick a bunch of parameters at random until you get there... I need to add some code to fill the unused DPIDs automatically, but I'll get to that soon.

I also need to play around with ObdLink and AllPro some more to see if they can be made to work.
Please don't PM me with technical questions - start a thread instead, and send me a link to it. That way I can answer in public, and help other people who have the same question. Thanks!

User avatar
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Suite development

Postby NSFW » Wed Feb 09, 2022 4:24 pm

I just re-read Pete's message and I think I see how to get the PCM to stream less than 4 DPIDs - pass 0xFF in place of the unneeded DPIDs. I'll try that before I go filling up unnecessary DPIDs. But I'm out of time for tonight.
Please don't PM me with technical questions - start a thread instead, and send me a link to it. That way I can answer in public, and help other people who have the same question. Thanks!

PreviousNext

Return to GM LS1 512Kbyte and 1Mbyte

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests