PCM Hammer Release 021

They go by many names, P01, P59, VPW, '0411 etc . Circa 1999 to 2006. All VPW OBD2 PCMs.
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7200
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Release 021

Postby antus » Tue May 24, 2022 9:03 am

That was such a big post I did it for you. Thanks for posting the bin and details!
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2022 3:50 am

Re: PCM Hammer Release 021

Postby spyder09 » Tue May 24, 2022 10:12 am

antus wrote:That was such a big post I did it for you. Thanks for posting the bin and details!


Thank you haha

Posts: 311
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:50 am

Re: PCM Hammer Release 021

Postby bubba2533 » Wed May 25, 2022 1:32 am

Question on the latest PCM Logger.

How do you go about using the upper or lower byte for a PID? For example I am trying to have the Fuel Status (PID 0x03) shown and it's bit encoded with the upper byte and lower byte being for the Bank1 and Bank2.

I have it showing as a raw decimal value, but that's not very readable.
LS1 Boost OS: If you have Questions about the current release post Here. If you have feature suggestions post in the Development Thread

Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2022 3:50 am

Re: PCM Hammer Release 021

Postby spyder09 » Wed May 25, 2022 1:42 am

I have not tried to use logger yet personally but will be soon to start creating xdf files

User avatar
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Release 021

Postby NSFW » Wed May 25, 2022 2:17 pm

bubba2533 wrote:Question on the latest PCM Logger.

How do you go about using the upper or lower byte for a PID? For example I am trying to have the Fuel Status (PID 0x03) shown and it's bit encoded with the upper byte and lower byte being for the Bank1 and Bank2.

I have it showing as a raw decimal value, but that's not very readable.


I didn't know that was a thing.

If you're using 7603, I might be able to find the addresses of the individual bytes, so that we can create separate RAM parameters to log the two values separately.
Please don't PM me with technical questions - start a thread instead, and send me a link to it. That way I can answer in public, and help other people who have the same question. Thanks!

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7200
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Release 021

Postby antus » Wed May 25, 2022 4:07 pm

pids 0,1,3,12,13 from just a quick partial look are all flags encoded in bits, I think it should be supported. http://www.dashlogic.com/docs/technical/obdii_pids
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 311
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:50 am

Re: PCM Hammer Release 021

Postby bubba2533 » Thu May 26, 2022 3:12 am

Yeah there are even more than that. I think it would be really good to have it supported.

That seems like a really good website thanks antus!
LS1 Boost OS: If you have Questions about the current release post Here. If you have feature suggestions post in the Development Thread

User avatar
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Release 021

Postby NSFW » Thu May 26, 2022 5:03 am

There is support for logging individual bits:

<Parameter
id="1100"
name="A/C Relay Command"
description=""
storageType="uint8"
bitMapped="True"
bitIndex="3">
<Conversion units="Boolean" expression="On,Off" format="0.00" />
</Parameter>
<Parameter
id="1100"
name="A/C Request Signal"
description=""
storageType="uint8"
bitMapped="True"
bitIndex="0">
<Conversion units="Boolean" expression="On,Off" format="0.00" />
</Parameter>

If you were really ambitious you could probably log 8 bits this way and make a chain of math parameters that aggreate them into a single value... but that's a terrible idea. :)

I kinda want to add byteMapped and byteIndex properties, that should address this scenario with minimal pain.
Please don't PM me with technical questions - start a thread instead, and send me a link to it. That way I can answer in public, and help other people who have the same question. Thanks!

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7200
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: PCM Hammer Release 021

Postby antus » Thu May 26, 2022 12:07 pm

I dont think its two byte values, at least its not by the J1939 spec which GM should not be able to break while maintaining OBD2 compliance. I think it is 2 bytes of bits here so that should work as is.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 311
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:50 am

Re: PCM Hammer Release 021

Postby bubba2533 » Fri May 27, 2022 2:28 am

It seems this version of PCM Hammer does not like my new Custom OS.

When trying to flash it gives me an error:

Code: Select all
[12:08:22:148]  Kernel upload 100% complete.
[12:08:22:160]  TX: 6C 10 F0 3D 00
[12:08:22:192]  RX: 6D F0 10 76 00
[12:08:22:315]  TX: 6C 10 F0 3D 00
[12:08:22:377]  RX: 6C F0 10 7D 00 01 03 05 01
[12:08:22:378]  Kernel Version: 01030501
[12:08:22:388]  Kernel uploaded to PCM succesfully.
[12:08:22:398]  Sending 'test device present' notification.
[12:08:22:399]  TX: 8C FE F0 3F
[12:08:22:413]  TX: 6C 10 F0 3D 03
[12:08:22:441]  RX: 6C F0 10 7D 03 04 88 20 33
[12:08:22:441]  Trying P59 1Mb
[12:08:22:442]  PCM and image file are both operating system 76030003
[12:08:22:459]  TX: 6C 10 F0 3D 01
[12:08:22:488]  RX: 6C F0 10 7D 01 00 89 88 9D
[12:08:22:491]  Flash chip: Intel 28F800B, 1mb
[12:08:22:501]  File size 1,048,576 does not match PCM size 0. This image is not compatible with this PCM.
[12:08:22:514]  Halting the kernel.
[12:08:22:515]  TX: 6C 10 F0 20
[12:08:22:519]  J2534 setting VPW 1X
[12:08:22:668]  TX: 6C 10 F0 20
[12:08:22:683]  Clearing trouble codes.
[12:08:22:952]  TX: 68 6A F0 04
[12:08:23:232]  TX: 68 6A F0 04
[12:08:23:499]  TX: 8C FE F0 14
[12:08:23:767]  TX: 8C FE F0 14
[12:08:23:784]  Elapsed time 00:00:08.1356434


Another thing that would be nice is to have the ability to do a flash of both calibration sectors (Stock=008000-01FFFF & Custom OS=0E0000-0FFFFF).

I'm currently doing a "Write OS, Calibration, and Boot" to flash Cal changes, which makes it a little more dangerous for the user.
LS1 Boost OS: If you have Questions about the current release post Here. If you have feature suggestions post in the Development Thread

PreviousNext

Return to GM LS1 512Kbyte and 1Mbyte

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest