Help reset 0411

They go by many names, P01, P59, VPW, '0411 etc . Circa 1999 to 2006. All VPW OBD2 PCMs.
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:42 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Help reset 0411

Postby neruve » Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:57 pm

I hope someone here can help out. I was using dem-24/7's tool to flash an 0411 and I didn't read the instructions properly I guess and I think I may have bricked the ECU.

I though I read somewhere you could do a manual reset on the ECU inside. Does anyone know how to do this. I have had it apart to paint the case before so that's not an issue. Would just like to know if there is anyway to revive it.

I did the full flash on it, and then disconnected before exiting flash mode. So now nothing can communicate with it.

Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby kojab » Sun Apr 03, 2016 5:24 am

The flash chip will have to be removed and re-flashed with a eprom burner and then soldered back onto the main board. There is no reset procedure to fix this 0411.

If you are in Sydney I can do it for you.

User avatar
Posts: 1801
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: WA

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby Tazzi » Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:55 pm

neruve wrote:I hope someone here can help out. I was using dem-24/7's tool to flash an 0411 and I didn't read the instructions properly I guess and I think I may have bricked the ECU.

I though I read somewhere you could do a manual reset on the ECU inside. Does anyone know how to do this. I have had it apart to paint the case before so that's not an issue. Would just like to know if there is anyway to revive it.

I did the full flash on it, and then disconnected before exiting flash mode. So now nothing can communicate with it.


Doesn't sound like it was a successful flash by the sounds of it?
I imagine the "exit flash mode" is simply sending the basic mode 20 command to the ECU to tell it to return to normal communication?. May need to consult dem on what exactly the exit flash mode does to be certain.
Are you sure the operating system you flashed to the ECU was supported??

Always wanted to see if a clip-on solution to the chip would be possible, could be a good time for you to look into it.

Posts: 3114
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby Dylan » Sun Apr 03, 2016 3:09 pm

On that, is that app compatible with our OS's? I'm under the impression it is.
I can see some good potential for us Aussies if it is. There's an XDF Antus has started for our VY commodore code.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5523
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby antus » Sun Apr 03, 2016 3:22 pm

Yes it is compatible with the 512mbit '0411 pcm regardless of OS (aussie or usa). The gotcha is the AVT interface, but if you can wear the cost and the ADX has enough defined for you then you can do it and log with Jaymes ls1 ADX (including wideband in the data stream if you have the AVT with the analog input). Having said that I have an idea there might be some more options in late 2016 so if your not in a hurry...
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 3114
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby Dylan » Sun Apr 03, 2016 3:24 pm

Can't wait. I'm keen for a non "commercial" option for the 0411. I can appreciate the effort and costs and would be happy with a one off outlay but I find the VIN licensing crap myself.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5523
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby antus » Sun Apr 03, 2016 3:49 pm

As for this thread, i dont think it would have bricked from the lack of disconnect. What file did you upload? I suspect it might have been something that cant run the computer. A compressed archive (zip) or proprietary format like tun or hpt maybe? It needs to be a bin file of a compatible operating system (OSID) and should be 512kb in size.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 1801
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: WA

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby Tazzi » Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:43 am

antus wrote:As for this thread, i dont think it would have bricked from the lack of disconnect. What file did you upload? I suspect it might have been something that cant run the computer. A compressed archive (zip) or proprietary format like tun or hpt maybe? It needs to be a bin file of a compatible operating system (OSID) and should be 512kb in size.

Recon your spot on Ant.
.tun file or incompatible OS.

Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:42 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby neruve » Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:02 am

It is a 0411 out of a 2001 Blazer 4.3L. I had flashed a .bin file for an 01 firebird 5.7 m6. The flash did complete according to the program. However, I can't get anything to connect to it. Maybe I'll try again tomorrow.

I have attached the exact file I flashed to it.

2001 WS6 Man 12202088.bin
(512 KiB) Downloaded 122 times

Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby kojab » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:21 am

There is nothing wrong with the OS (operating system) in the bin you have attached. We use the same OS in our early LS1 VT series 2 commodores in Australia.

In your first post you wrote "I did the full flash on it, and then disconnected before exiting flash mode. So now nothing can communicate with it."

If you disconnected the 12 Volt supply from the PCM before the full flash mode" had completed you will lose total communication to the PCM. It's toast unless you lift the flash chip and reprogram it.

Next

Return to GM LS1 512Kbyte and 1Mbyte

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests