Help reset 0411

They go by many names, P01, P59, VPW, '0411 etc . Circa 1999 to 2006. All VPW OBD2 PCMs.
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:42 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby neruve » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:38 am

kojab wrote:If you disconnected the 12 Volt supply from the PCM before the full flash mode" had completed you will lose total communication to the PCM. It's toast unless you lift the flash chip and reprogram it.


I didn't do that. I closed to pc utility after it said the flash was complete, then I tried to connect to it with antus program to change the vin and it wouldn't connect. Then I tried the original program and then HP tuners and nothing would communicate. Then I disconnected power to put it away for the day.

I was doing this on a bench harness. Power was tested at 12.4v.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5523
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby antus » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:57 am

The file you uploaded has a bunch of identifying information missing from the param block. I wouldnt expect this to cause any problems but if someone (kojab?) pulls the chip and reads it back i'd be interested to see whats on there as a post mortem.

Im tempted to try the same full flash on my pcm on the bench here but as I dont have a spare that might be asking for trouble.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:42 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby neruve » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:16 am

I guess that's what I get for trusting a bin from someone on another forum...

Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:42 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby neruve » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:16 am

since I'm in the US shipping it back and forth to Sydney won't really be worth it.

Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby kojab » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:35 am

Well spotted antus. It did not cross my mind (getting old) to look at that block. If they are the only things missing I would imagine a BCM re-link might at least get the engine running. This would confirm if the OS is intact. There should have been some warning to alert neruve that this info is missing. I am not sure what tool he used to do the full reflash.

If the OS is intact I have tools here to fix the missing info without lifting the chip.

Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:42 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby neruve » Tue Apr 05, 2016 10:59 am

kojab wrote:Well spotted antus. It did not cross my mind (getting old) to look at that block. If they are the only things missing I would imagine a BCM re-link might at least get the engine running. This would confirm if the OS is intact. There should have been some warning to alert neruve that this info is missing. I am not sure what tool he used to do the full reflash.

If the OS is intact I have tools here to fix the missing info without lifting the chip.


I may ship it out to you if you wanna but I probably won't want it back. It would be about 35.00 bucks to get it to you and probably the same or more to get it back. I can get a whole ecu for about 30-40 bucks from the scrapyards here.

User avatar
Posts: 1801
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: WA

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby Tazzi » Tue Apr 05, 2016 11:16 am

neruve wrote:I may ship it out to you if you wanna but I probably won't want it back. It would be about 35.00 bucks to get it to you and probably the same or more to get it back. I can get a whole ecu for about 30-40 bucks from the scrapyards here.

I wish they were only $30 over here! :lol:

User avatar
Posts: 9569
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Tenambit, NSW

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby Holden202T » Tue Apr 05, 2016 11:25 am

lol yeah get a few and send them to us
:D

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5523
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby antus » Tue Apr 05, 2016 11:55 am

He means the postage!

It might be worth trying a pcm recover with tunercat if you can - if the bootloader is working that'll probably fix it. But it does sound clearly dead.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:42 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Help reset 0411

Postby neruve » Tue Apr 05, 2016 12:33 pm

antus wrote:He means the postage!

It might be worth trying a pcm recover with tunercat if you can - if the bootloader is working that'll probably fix it. But it does sound clearly dead.


I would try this if if I had tunercat. All I have is the avt-852 cable. I was using dimented24x7 flash tool from thirdgen.org

PreviousNext

Return to GM LS1 512Kbyte and 1Mbyte

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests