Allpro development

They go by many names, P01, P59, VPW, '0411 etc . Circa 1999 to 2006. All VPW OBD2 PCMs.
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5629
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Allpro development

Postby antus » Sat May 07, 2016 10:40 pm

It seems there is a new open source OBD adapter out called the allpro. At the moment its an elm device, but I plan to use it as a hardware development platform to develop some improved features for '0411 flashing which this more resourced and powerful NXP processor can deliver.

This board was a bad build I tried to get assembled myself (with problems) and has also now been 'fixed' with non-original components and small pieces of spare metal from the rubbish pile. But, no smoke :lol: I'd recommend buying assembled units.

obdpro-2-board.png
obdpro-2-board.png (514.54 KiB) Viewed 351 times


And, more action from flashmagic.
obdpro-2-device id.png
obdpro-2-device id.png (22.24 KiB) Viewed 351 times

obdpro-2-verified.png
obdpro-2-verified.png (27.13 KiB) Viewed 351 times


And finally the underwhelming results of the initial stage 1 success:
Code: Select all
>ATI
ELM327 v1.1
>
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:37 pm
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Vic

Re: obdpro

Postby Biggvl » Sun May 08, 2016 8:02 am

Great work :thumbup:
According to chemistry, alcohol is a solution...

User avatar
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am

Re: obdpro

Postby The1 » Sun May 08, 2016 10:33 pm

awesome work you got it going! Will be good to see progress

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5629
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: obdpro

Postby antus » Sun May 08, 2016 11:55 pm

First of all I found my new PSU looks to be semi dead. The current limiting works and has prevented smoke, but the voltage control seems to be non-existant, and its always outputting 17v. I didnt realise this before the obdpro reported 17v on the bus, and the multimeter confirmed it. Doh! Lucky the regulator was doing its thing and could handle it...... Big time waster that since the shop is only open business hours, is half way across the city and Im normally carless at work...

Anyway I got a couple of hours to play with this. I hooked the obdpro up to the bench '0411 and the bench cb radio 13.8v supply but no joy. I just kept getting back 'NO DATA', and none of the elm apps would scan with it. I wasnt sure about the protocol but I figured that it should be able to pull random data off the bus if I hit init in the ls1flash tool with the avt on the bus at the same time. No joy. It is still of course possible that Im just not set up right. Would love some advise on this if anyone is good with the elm protocol.

Code: Select all
>ATZ
OK
ELM327 v1.1
>AT@1
1.05
>ATRV
13.6V
>ATSP2
OK
>ATDP
SAE J1850 VPW
>0100
NO DATA
>ATBD
06 68 6A F1 01 00 17 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00


So I busted out the dreamsource labs dslogic pro I purchased a few weeks ago, and found it doesnt work on win 10 due to unsigned drivers. I found this method worked http://www.howtogeek.com/167723/how-to- ... d-drivers/ and did a bit of bus sniffing. To my surprise I did sample data which looks like VPW coming out of the obdpro. But the packets look too short.... and they are shorter than what Im getting out of the AVT (which is pictured here):

dsview vpw.png


So, I think it might be time to see how hard it is to write a VPW protocol decoder for sigrok.... http://sigrok.org/wiki/Protocol_decoder_HOWTO

Once thats done it'll be an invaluable tool from here. Right now I know enough to get started but not enough to pull this off. This is going to take time, patience and study :study:
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am

Re: obdpro

Postby The1 » Mon May 09, 2016 7:59 am

with win10 drivers hold left shift and click restart, then on bootup you can select the driver startup mode and install the unsigned drivers, next reboot after goes back to normal mode. The rest i have no idea about :(

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5629
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: obdpro

Postby antus » Mon May 09, 2016 9:26 am

Yep thats the theory, and while windows probably went back to normal the drivers stayed installed and working which is the ideal situation with strongest security :thumbup:

I had a brainwave last night and took one more look at this before going to bed. I managed to log chatter with the avt, and could see the PCM sending short packets periodically (vats?). I was powering the obdpro from the data bus, so I disconnected the vpw pin and checked again. I could no longer see short packets so it looks like the data I saw was from the pcm, and there is nothing is coming out of the obdpro :cry:

Oh well, 'till next chance to play....
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5629
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: obdpro

Postby antus » Sun May 15, 2016 8:55 am

This has ended up going nowhere. I have spoken with the obdpro author, and it turns out there is a self test mode in the firmware as AT#3, which shows all circuits fail except K line. So there are still multiple problems with my boards. I fixed the regs in board #3 and it failed the same as board #2. I guess thats my money in the bin, sourcing components and rebuilding these by hand trying to debug/fix them is not a sain option from here :(
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:23 am

Re: obdpro

Postby The1 » Sun May 15, 2016 9:38 am

damn, i suppose there isn't proper schematics to check against?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5629
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: obdpro

Postby antus » Sun May 15, 2016 10:50 am

There is but how the analog stages function (and fail) is beyond me and the component markings are so small or non-existant i dont know how to verify the parts or operation. Whats more i dont have any spares so its just too much/notvworth the work.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 5629
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: obdpro

Postby antus » Tue May 31, 2016 11:05 pm

So I ordered and received built hardware from obddiag which have arrived. I flashed on the firmware, and ran a self test.

Code: Select all
OK
ELM327 v1.1
>AT#3
PWM wiring is OK
VPW wiring is OK
ISO9141/14230 wiring is OK
CAN wiring is OK
>


Then I hooked up the bench vpw bus, fired up scanxl, and we have action! Then I attached the DSlogic pro, messed around with the settings for a bit, and we have VPW bus monitoring, too. Win!

Clearly red circuit boards are a better colour :lol:
Attachments
board try 2.jpg
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Next

Return to GM LS1 512Kbyte and 1Mbyte

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest