PCM Hammer - new ls1 flash tool

They go by many names, P01, P59, VPW, '0411 etc . Circa 1999 to 2006. All VPW OBD2 PCMs.
User avatar
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:15 am
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado

Re: PCM Hammer - new ls1 flash tool

Postby DavidBraley » Thu Jan 09, 2020 1:04 pm

Does anyone know what micro-controller is used in the P04 for the V6's and P08/P10 for the L4's and L6's? Is it by any chance a M683xx flavor like in the P01 and P59? And if know one knows, how can you find out?

Sorry if this has been answered already...
Last edited by DavidBraley on Thu Jan 09, 2020 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-David

Horsepower determines the speed you hit the wall. Torque determines the size of the hole you make.

Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: PCM Hammer - new ls1 flash tool

Postby Gampy » Thu Jan 09, 2020 1:08 pm

Vampyre wrote:Gampy yes my wifes car is a 2000 grand am gt1 that I swapped a 3800 supercharged motor into so I use my tech2 with her vin to program all my P04 to start with that file factory.
Happy wife, Happy life ... And she outta be happy with that!

Thank you for the confirmation ...

Have a look see at what I found in that 2005 bin you uploaded for me,
Code: Select all
  swap    d3
  move.w  2(a3),d3
  move.w  #$FF,(a3)
  cmpi.l  #$894471,d3        ; Is it Intel
  beq.s   locret             ; Branch if Intel
  movea.l #$AAA,a4
  movea.l #$554,a2
  move.w  #$AAAA,(a4)        ; Command AMD Unlock
  move.w  #$5555,(a2)        ; Command AMD Unlock
  move.w  #$9090,(a4)        ; Command AMD Autoselect
  move.w  (a3),d3
  swap    d3
  move.w  2(a3),d3
  move.w  #$F0F0,(a3)        ; Command AMD Reset
  cmpi.l  #(loc_122AA+1),d3
  beq.s   locret
  clr.l   d3
locret:
  rts
The above chip selection code is evidence that the ?04? plus P04's do in fact have an AMD chip.

David,
It is in the same M68k family.

-Enjoy

User avatar
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:15 am
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado

Re: PCM Hammer - new ls1 flash tool

Postby DavidBraley » Thu Jan 09, 2020 1:22 pm

Gampy wrote:David,

It is in the same M68k family.

-Enjoy


Thank you Gampy! I'm going to roll up my sleeves and see if I can get the BDM to talk to the P04 and the P10 I now have here on the bench. I've got a lot of exploring to find the correct probe locations on the mainboard. It's a lot different than the P01 and P59 PCM's. For starters, it has no convenient 90 pin header:

P04a.jpg
P04a.jpg (962.08 KiB) Viewed 421 times


p04d.jpg
p04d.jpg (869.4 KiB) Viewed 421 times
-David

Horsepower determines the speed you hit the wall. Torque determines the size of the hole you make.

Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: PCM Hammer - new ls1 flash tool

Postby Gampy » Thu Jan 09, 2020 9:46 pm

Have fun David ...

That is where I like my old RS analog meter, it responds faster then these new fancy automatic meters (at least all the ones I've used).

Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:30 am
Location: TX USA

Re: PCM Hammer - new ls1 flash tool

Postby MudDuck514 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:09 am

Gampy wrote:Have fun David ...

That is where I like my old RS analog meter, it responds faster then these new fancy automatic meters (at least all the ones I've used).


Hi all,

Gampy, that is exactly the reason why when a friend offered to give me a working Simpson 260, I jumped at the offer!

Mike

User avatar
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:28 am

Re: PCM Hammer - new ls1 flash tool

Postby Jim Blackwood » Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:53 am

This is relevant.
In the Main VE table, TunerProRT, '411: When cells in the table are changed.

IF you leave the focus on the last cell changed when committing changes to memory, that cell will revert to the pre-change value.

You HAVE to move the focus away from any cell that has been changed if you want to save your changes.

At this point it would be the safer approach to assume that the same will apply to any table. But I haven't tested it.

Jim

Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:02 pm

Re: PCM Hammer - new ls1 flash tool

Postby Vampyre » Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:20 am

Gampy wrote:
Vampyre wrote:Gampy yes my wifes car is a 2000 grand am gt1 that I swapped a 3800 supercharged motor into so I use my tech2 with her vin to program all my P04 to start with that file factory.
Happy wife, Happy life ... And she outta be happy with that!

Thank you for the confirmation ...

Have a look see at what I found in that 2005 bin you uploaded for me,
Code: Select all
  swap    d3
  move.w  2(a3),d3
  move.w  #$FF,(a3)
  cmpi.l  #$894471,d3        ; Is it Intel
  beq.s   locret             ; Branch if Intel
  movea.l #$AAA,a4
  movea.l #$554,a2
  move.w  #$AAAA,(a4)        ; Command AMD Unlock
  move.w  #$5555,(a2)        ; Command AMD Unlock
  move.w  #$9090,(a4)        ; Command AMD Autoselect
  move.w  (a3),d3
  swap    d3
  move.w  2(a3),d3
  move.w  #$F0F0,(a3)        ; Command AMD Reset
  cmpi.l  #(loc_122AA+1),d3
  beq.s   locret
  clr.l   d3
locret:
  rts
The above chip selection code is evidence that the ?04? plus P04's do in fact have an AMD chip.

David,
It is in the same M68k family.

-Enjoy


ok gampy now you got me curious, but if you look right above that it asks if its intel. so wondering if thats just left over from something else hmmmm

Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:02 pm

Re: PCM Hammer - new ls1 flash tool

Postby Vampyre » Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:23 am

im going to start using the v6 ability thread I started so we stop clogging this one
Last edited by Vampyre on Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: PCM Hammer - new ls1 flash tool

Postby Gampy » Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:36 am

Vampyre wrote:ok gampy now you got me curious, but if you look right above that it asks if its intel. so wondering if thats just left over from something else hmmmm

That is the whole point of the code, the OS is asking what chip do I have to work with, Intel or AMD ...
The comments are mine.

Typical backwards compatibility ... Add new code leaving existing.

Thus any OS's prior to the appearance of the AMD will only run on Intel units, after the appearance of the AMD the OS should run on both, AMD and Intel.

Just like the P59 has Intel only OS's ...

Start a new thread ...
Last edited by Gampy on Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:18 am, edited 2 times in total.

Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:30 am
Location: TX USA

Re: PCM Hammer - new ls1 flash tool

Postby MudDuck514 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:12 am

Hi all,

Perhaps Antus could move all the related posts to the "new" thread?

Mike

PreviousNext

Return to GM LS1 512Kbyte and 1Mbyte

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ironduke and 2 guests