12587603 XDF Checksum problems

They go by many names, P01, P59, VPW, '0411 etc . Circa 1999 to 2006. All VPW OBD2 PCMs.
User avatar
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 10:04 pm

12587603 XDF Checksum problems

Postby yoheer » Thu Jan 07, 2021 9:04 am

Hey
I use 3 different xdf files

12587603_RC1.xdf
(803.65 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

12587603+AC.xdf
(1.48 MiB) Downloaded 10 times


Plus I use 2 plugins (Located in documents/tunerpro files/plugins)
1Mb PCM OS Checksum Plugin.dll
(8.5 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

GM-P01-P59-checksum-plugin.dll
(11 KiB) Downloaded 15 times


The first xdf works perfect (It's locked for modifying.)

I have problems using the 2nd xdf file.
After modifying saving and trying to write PCMHammer says that there is bad OS segment (The very first line after choosing modded bin)
The picture is an example. It's not my screenshot.
hammer.jpg


12587603+AC.xdf allows to change OS checksum value manually, but I think this is not the right way.
How to solve the problem?
Last edited by yoheer on Thu Jan 07, 2021 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6456
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: 12587603 XDF Checksum problems

Postby antus » Thu Jan 07, 2021 9:12 am

2 ways

1) If you are not editing adding a code patch, remove the os checksum calculator completely, as that segment wont change for normal tuning.
2) Set up the XDF like this, and select the working plugin.
Attachments
p59 os checksum config.png
p59 os checksum config.png (79.01 KiB) Viewed 268 times
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 10:04 pm

Re: 12587603 XDF Checksum problems

Postby yoheer » Thu Jan 07, 2021 9:45 am

Antus, thank you VERY MUCH!
I just tried second way. It works!!!
Today I wasted 7 hours sitting in a car and trying to make a correct file and flash the pcm. And it was just kicking my butt :)

User avatar
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 10:04 pm

Re: 12587603 XDF Checksum problems

Postby yoheer » Thu Jan 07, 2021 5:37 pm

Btw is it ok that i make some parameter mods, but checksum changes in OS segment?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6456
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: 12587603 XDF Checksum problems

Postby antus » Fri Jan 08, 2021 10:34 am

It does sound suspicious, I'd check exactly what changed against another XDF or app. Or tell us what your changing and post up the address which changes in the bin and I can validate it. Calibration changes are not using in the OS segment. Can you post up a before and after bin?
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:05 pm

Re: 12587603 XDF Checksum problems

Postby Duck1 » Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:12 pm

Having issues with tunnerpro. I get a checksum error when saving bin files. I tried re-save of a virgin file I read from my daily driver, no changes received same message. Pcm hammer program now says file is corrupt and will damage pcm. I'm new to this sorry for my ignorance

Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:41 pm

Re: 12587603 XDF Checksum problems

Postby B52Bombardier1 » Mon Jan 11, 2021 6:26 pm

Do you have all of the correct plug ins installed for Tuner Pro RT? Did you edit your BIN OS file using the correct XDF file? This second question seems to be what bites most people.

Rick

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6456
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: 12587603 XDF Checksum problems

Postby antus » Tue Jan 12, 2021 7:28 pm

Ideally, unless your installing OS patches (most people are not), if the XDF isnt locked (many are) you can delete the OS checksum an then make your edits again in a new copy of the file. The OS checksum and plugins concept kind of got legs of its own and created more problems than it solved. Calibration changes DO NOT require the OS checksum to be updated and re-written, most XDFs do not have any data fields that necessitates that sum.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Return to GM LS1 512Kbyte and 1Mbyte

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests