How to make 01 5.7l vortec 0411 pcm to run 5.7 ls1

They go by many names, P01, P59, VPW, '0411 etc . Circa 1999 to 2006. All VPW OBD2 PCMs.
User avatar
Posts: 1392
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: How to make 01 5.7l vortec 0411 pcm to run 5.7 ls1

Postby Gampy » Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:25 pm

We thank ya sir!

So, does that involve removing just the OS xdfchecksum node,
Code: Select all
  <XDFCHECKSUM uniqueid="0x47C4">
    <title>1 - Operating System Checksum</title>
    <REGION>
      <pluginmoduleid>9a53f579-d1c9-40c6-8691-7a54fa789d3b</pluginmoduleid>
      <datastart>0x0</datastart>
      <dataend>0x7FFFD</dataend>
      <datasizebits>0x10</datasizebits>
      <storeaddress>0x500</storeaddress>
      <calculationmethod>0x0</calculationmethod>
    </REGION>
  </XDFCHECKSUM>
and that makes it not do the checksum for the OS which is not needed, because no code changes were done ...
Intelligence is in the details!

It is easier not to learn bad habits, then it is to break them!

If I was here to win a popularity contest, their would be no point, so I wouldn't be here!

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6808
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: How to make 01 5.7l vortec 0411 pcm to run 5.7 ls1

Postby antus » Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:58 pm

That is correct, provided the other segments use the built in tunerpro algorithms (tunerpro default checksum plugin, twos compliment), which the XDFs I've seen do. They could use the same plugin as the OS segment and get the right result, but then you'd need the plugin for artificial reasons. If they do have a 3rd party plugin, setting it up as i've described and not changing the addresses will remove the dependency. The plugin is needed for the OS because tunerpro cant handle a non-contiguous segment like the OS segment natively. Calibration segments are contiguous and so are fine.
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

User avatar
Posts: 1392
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:38 am

Re: How to make 01 5.7l vortec 0411 pcm to run 5.7 ls1

Postby Gampy » Mon Jan 10, 2022 5:05 pm

Sweet, Thank ya!

Gotcha on the each <xdfchecksum> node could have it's own <pluginmoduleid> node ...
Intelligence is in the details!

It is easier not to learn bad habits, then it is to break them!

If I was here to win a popularity contest, their would be no point, so I wouldn't be here!

Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2022 3:37 am

Re: How to make 01 5.7l vortec 0411 pcm to run 5.7 ls1

Postby 12ramhemi » Tue Jan 11, 2022 4:52 am

I got a copy of an 01 camaro bin from a friends car that was stock. It's a different os but even with the right xdf it's doing the same. So I tested a 059 pcm by just deleting vats and saving it. Its does the same thing there too.

So the plugin should fix this ?

I really appreciate the help with this all.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6808
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: How to make 01 5.7l vortec 0411 pcm to run 5.7 ls1

Postby antus » Tue Jan 11, 2022 8:23 am

Either install the plugin, or edit the xdf header in tunerpro and remove the operating system checksum.

Pcmhammer wont flash a file with a bad checksum, so there is a layer of validation there.
Attachments
os checksum delete.png
os checksum delete.png (70.94 KiB) Viewed 144 times
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2022 3:37 am

Re: How to make 01 5.7l vortec 0411 pcm to run 5.7 ls1

Postby 12ramhemi » Mon Jan 17, 2022 12:10 pm

Still having the same issue. I will try to edit xdf header.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 6808
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Re: How to make 01 5.7l vortec 0411 pcm to run 5.7 ls1

Postby antus » Mon Jan 17, 2022 3:16 pm

I wish we did have a better archive for XDFs but this is what I would use for 12212156. It does not require a plugin.
Attachments
Operating System 12212156 - 512Kb PCM - 2002 model year noplugin.xdf
(603.23 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Have you read the FAQ? For lots of information and links to significant threads see here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1396

Previous

Return to GM LS1 512Kbyte and 1Mbyte

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests