VT standalone harness

Holden/Delco Tuning. ALDL, OBD 1.5. Circa 1989 to 2004.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:38 pm
Location: Napier , New Zealand

VT standalone harness

Postby gm-services » Mon Aug 01, 2022 4:41 pm

Dumb question , when transplanting VT ecu and harness (L67 & 4L60E) I have no comms with scantool
I have had this problem before with VT transplants , for some reason VS ecu transplants seem to be fine.
Is there a trick to get scantool comms (Tech2) with the VT without the other modules (I believe the BCM is the Bus master)

TIA

Brad Roberts
Just Commodores Limited
1033 Links Road
Waiohiki RD3
Napier
NZ

User avatar
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:00 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: VT standalone harness

Postby charlay86 » Mon Aug 01, 2022 9:34 pm

I guess the scan tool is listening for the bus master heartbeat message, which won't be there. It may be possible to get the VT pcm to spit out the BCM heartbeat message periodically, but this isn't how it's usually configured.

Posts: 3277
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: VT standalone harness

Postby Dylan » Tue Aug 02, 2022 1:17 pm

In VT the BCM is the master. There's two flags to set for a stand alone set up. I can't remember off hand sorry.

When I do the V8 harnesses I write a VS3 calibration to the memcal. It solved a lot of issues. Maybe you could do the same with the V6

Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:38 pm
Location: Napier , New Zealand

Re: VT standalone harness

Postby gm-services » Wed Aug 10, 2022 12:57 pm

Thanks for reply.
I will have a look in Tunerpro and see if I can see the flags for it.
It's actually A VQ ute with a VT L67 engine/trans/loom/computer ,so a VS III won't help I guess

Cheers
Brad

Posts: 3277
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: VT standalone harness

Postby Dylan » Wed Aug 10, 2022 10:00 pm

VS3 and VT us same ECU and memcal, just a different code in the EPROM. A much simpler code for pre VT vehicles.duebthe the VT having majority of the data sent ronthw dash as data and not hardwired. VS3 was still all wired.

Return to Holden ALDL ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests